Dasineura irregularis (Bremi, 1847)

Diptera, Cecidomyidae

on Acer

Dasineura irregularis galls

Acer pseudoplatanus, Kropswolde © Arnold Grosscurt

Dasineura irregularis: gall on Acer pseudopltanus

Acer pseudoplatanus, Harderbos © Hans Jonkman: unusually extensive galling

Dasineura irregularis gall

Acer pseudoplatanus, Oostvoorne

Dasineura irregularis: gall on Acer saccharinum

Acer saccharinum, Belgium, prov. Namur, Gembloux © Jean-Yves Baugnée

Dasineura irregularis: larvae on Acer saccharinum

Acer saccharinum, Haarlem-Noord © Dik Vonk

Acer saccharinum, België, prov. Antwerpen, Mol; ©
Carina Van Steenwinkel: rijpe larven en cocon

Dasineura irregularis: larvae and cocoon on Acer saccharinum

Acer saccharinum, Belgium, prov. Antwerp, Mol; ©
Carina Van Steenwinkel: mature larvae and cocoon

Dasineura irregularis: pupa


Dasineura irregularis: gall on Acer campstre

Acer campestre, Germany, Harz, Wildemann © Hans Jonkman


There are two annual generations. According to, among others, Buhr and Skuhravá, Skuhravý & Jörgensen pupation takes place in the soil, but, as the pictures above show, that this is not completely true. Possibly the summer generation pupates in the gall, and the winter generation in the soil.


Sapindaceae, monophagous

Acer campestre, cappadocicum, monspessulanus, negundo, opalus & subsp. obtusatum, pseudoplatanus, sacharinum, tataricum.


Dasineura acercrispans (Kieffer, 1888).


See also D. rubella.


Barnes (1951a), Béguinot (2000b, 2002a,d,e,f,h, 2003a, 2006b,c, 2007b, 2012a), Bellmann (2012a), Bruun (2015a), Buhr (1964b), Dauphin & Aniotsbehere (1997a), Dietrich (2016a), Docters van Leeuwen (1936a), Gol, Namaghi, Hosseini & Skuhravá (2015a), Kollár (2007a), Koops (2013a), Lambinon, Carbonelle & Claerebout (2015a), Lambinon & Romain (2009a), Lambinon, Schneider & Feitz (2001b), Lehmann & Hannover (2016a), Mirumian (2011a), Pârvu (2005a), Redfern & Shirley (2011a), Roskam (2009a), Roskam & Carbonelle (2015a), Simova-Tošić, Skuhravá & Skuhravý (1996a, 2000a, 2004a, 2007a), Simova-Tošić, Skuhravá, Skuhravý & Postolovski (2007a), Skrzypczyńska (2007a), Skuhravá (1989a), Skuhravá, Karimpour, Sadeghi ao (2014a), Skuhravá & Skuhravý (1988a, 1994a,b, 1997a, 1999a,b, 2010a), Skuhravá, Skuhravý & Buhr (2013a), Skuhravá, Skuhravý, Dauphin & Coutin (2005a), Skuhravá, Skuhravý, Dončev & Dimitrova (1991a, 1992a), Skuhravá, Skuhravý & Hellrigl (2001a), Skuhravá, Skuhravý & Jörgensen (2006a), Skuhravá, Skuhravý & Meyer (2014a), Skuhravá, Skuhravý & Neacsu (1972a), Skuhravá, Skuhravý, Skrzypczyńska & Szadziewski (2008a).


pub 24.v.2017 · mod 18.vii.2017