Plant Parasites of Europe

leafminers, galls and fungi

Aculus tetanothrix

Aculus tetanothrix (Nalepa, 1889)

on Salix

Aculus tetanothrix: galls on Salix aurita

Salix aurita, Schoonoord © Arnold Grosscurt

Aculus tetanothrix: galls on Salix aurita


Aculus tetanothrix galls

Salix alba, Millingerwaard

Aculus tetanothrix galls

Salix alba, Nederhorst den Berg: upper side

Aculus tetanothrix galls


the gall contains a large number of mites (sometimes even more that the picture suggests) and has a smooth, not hairy inner wall

Aculus tetanothrix: galls on Salix alba

Salix alba, Mierlo, Wolfsven; © Arnold Grosscurt

Aculus tetanothrix: galls on Salix alba

same gall, underside

Aculus tetanothrix: gall on Salix alba

Salix alba, Dronten © Arnold Grosscurt

Aculus tetanothrix galls

Salix viminalis, Millingerwaard

Aculus tetnothrix: galls on Salix phylicifolia

Salix phylicifolia, galls (from Szydło ao)

host plants

Salicaceae, monophagous

Salix alba, aurita, canariensis, caprea, cinerea, daphnoides subsp. acutifolia, eriocephala, x fragilis, glauca, herbacea, integra, lanata, lapponum, myrsinites, myrsinifolia, nummularia, pentandra, phylicifolia, purpurea, repens subsp. rosmarinifolia, serpyllifolia, sitchensis, smithiana, starkeana, triandra, viminalis.


Aceria, Eriophyes, Vasates, tetanothrix.


Darlington mentions in his booklet as a gall causer on Salix: Eriophyes marginatus Connold, 1901. The name is ignored in the catalogues by Davis ao and Amrine & Stasny, but is is used (also as “Aceria tetanothrix marginatus”) by Dauphin & Aniotsbehere and by Béguinot (2001c, 2002d,h). Probably it is one of the many forms of tetanothrix galls.


Abras, Fassotte, Chandelier & Cavelier (2008a), Amrine & Stasny (1994a), Béguinot (2001c, 2002d,f,g,h, 2003a, 2006a,c, 2007b), Bellmann (2012a), Blanes-Dalmau, Caballero-López & Pujade-Villar (2017a), Braggion (2013a), Coulianos & Holmåsen (1991a), Darlington (1968a), Dauphin & Aniotsbehere (1997a), Davis, Flechtmann, Boczek & Barké (1982a), Denizhan, Monfreda, de Lillo & Çobanoğlu (2015a),Docters van Leeuwen (1936a), Farkas (1965a), Hellrigl (2003a, 2006a), Koops (2013a), Lambinon, Carbonnelle & Claerebout (2015a), Lambinon, Schneider & Feitz (2001a, 2012a), Mifsud, Monfreda & de Lillo (2007a), Petanović & Stanković (1999a), Redfern & Shirley (2011a), Ripka (2007a, 2016a), Ripka & de Lillo (1997a), Roivainen (1947a, 1953a), Roskam (2009a), Skoracka, Lewandowski & Boczek (2005a), Sylvén (1960a), Tomasi (2003a), Wahlgren (1963b), Weidner (1954a), Xue, Sadeghi & Hong (2009a), Szydło, Skaftason & Skoracka (2010a), Tavares (1905a), Vaněčková-Skuhravá (1996a).

Last modified 27.ii.2020