Eriophyes pyri (Pagenstecher, 1857)

pearleaf blister mite

on Pyrus

Eriophyes pyri: galls on Pyrus communis

Pyrus communis, Roemenië, Bucharest; from Cean, Cean & Stǎnicǎ (2012a)

Eriophyes pyri: galls on Pyrus communis

another aspect

Eriophyes pyri galls

Pyrus communis, Dronten, 29.iv.2010 © Arnold Grosscurt

Eriophyes pyri gall

Sorbus aucuparia, Castricum

Eriophyes pyri gall

Sorbus aucuparia, Nunspeet, huize De Vennen: bovenzijde

Eriophyes pyri gall

the underside has an inconspicuous opening

Eriophyes pyri gall

tranverse section: the gall is loosely filled with a loose spongy parenchyma.

Eriophyes pyri gall


Eriophyes pyri: old galls on Sorbus aucuparia

Sorbus aucuparia, Huijbergen, Staartsche Duinen: old galls turn dry, becoming brown pocks

Eriophyes pyri: old galls on Sorbus aria

Sorbus aria, France, dépt. Lozère, Florac © Sébastien Carbonnelle: old galls

Eriophyes pyri: galls on Sorbus torminalis

Sorbus torminalis, France, dép. Dordogne, Le Breuil, 2.v.2019 © Arnold Grosscurt


the mites do not live on the leaf surface, but within the abnormally loose sponge parenchyma; they hibernate in the buds.

host plants

Rosaceae, oligophagous

Amelanchier ovalis; Cotoneaster dammeri, integerrimus, nummularius, tomentosus; Cydonia oblonga; ? Malus domestica; Mespilus germanica; Pyrus communis & subsp. pyraster, nivalis, regelii,, spinosa; Sorbus aria, aucuparia, chamaemespilus, domestica, graeca, intermedia, obtusifolia, rupicola, torminalis.

That the species would live also on Ribes odoratum (Roskam) is a mistake.


Epitrimerus, Eriophyes, Phytoptus pyri; Eriophyes, Phytoptus, sorbi (Canestrini, 1890); Eriophyes variolatus Nalepa, 1892; E. pyri var. variolata.


Abras, Fassotte, Chandelier & Cavelier (2008a); Béguinot (2002a,e,f,g,h, 2003a,b, 2006a, 2007a,b, 2012a), Bellmann (2012a), Bohinc & Trdan (2013a), Buhr (1964b, 1965a), Cean, Cean & Stǎnicǎ (2012a), Chinery (2011a), Cogolludo (1921a), Coulianos & Holmåsen (1991a), Dauphin & Aniotsbehere (1997a), Farkas (1965a), Fjelddalen (1995a), Geçer & Denizhan (2015a), Hellrigl (2003a), Houard (1908a [“piri”]), Jočić & Petanović (2012a), Kapaxidi (2013a), Keifer, Baker, Kono, Delfinado & Styer (1982a), Kołątaj (2019a), Koops (2013a), Lambinon, Carbonnelle & Claerebout (2015a), Lambinon, Schneider & Feitz (2001a), Lehmann & Flügel (2012a), Lehmann & Hannover (2016a), Lotfollahi, Irani-Nejad & de Lillo (2014b), Mifsud, Monfreda & de Lillo (2007a), Petanović & Stanković (1999a), Redfern & Shirley (2011a), Ripka (2008a), Roivainen (1947a), Roskam (2009a), Schliesske (1988a), Skoracka, Lewandowski & Boczek (2005a), Stănescu (2009a), Sylvén (1960a), Tavares (1905a), Tomasi (2003a, 2012a, 2014a), Vaněčková-Skuhravá (1996a), Weidner (1954a), Xue, Sadeghi & Hong (2009a).

mod 27.ii.2020