Plant Parasites of Europe

leafminers, galls and fungi

Agromyza albipennis

Agromyza albipennis Meigen, 1830


Phalaris arundinacea, Vierlingsbeek


Oviposition near the leaf margin, at some distance from the leaf tip. From there develops an upper-surface corridor-blotch. At first the mine ascends as a narrow corridor towards the leaf tip, then the direction turns and the mine, steadily widening, descends in the direction of the leaf base. Frass irregular, in rather coarse grains. Larva solitary. Pupation mostly outside the mine; in that case the puparium often sticks to the leaf.

According to Dempewolf (2004a) only the male genitalia enable a reliable discrimination from A. graminicola and A. nigripes.

host plants


Agrostis stolonifera; Arrhenatherum elatius; Brachypodium sylvaticum; Calamagrostis arundinacea; Deschampsia cespitosa; Elytrigia repens; Festuca; Hordeum murinum, vulgare; Molinia; Phalaroides arundinacea; Phleum pratense; Poa trivialis; Secale cereale; Setaria viridis; Trisetum.

Phalaroides is the main host plant. Records from Glyceria maxima most probably refer to A. nigripes. Records from Phragmites australis may be due to confusion of the host plant with Phalaris (Griffiths, 1963a). Also the occurrence on Bromus and Holcus, reported by Robbins (1991a) needs confirmation.

Next to the plant genera mentioned already, Benavent ao (2004a) list: Dactylis, Milium, and Triticum.


Larvae in several generations between June and October (Dempewolf, 2004a).


BE recorded (Scheirs, De Bruyn & Verdyck, 1993a).

NE recorded (de Meijere, 1924a).

LUX not recorded (Fauna Europaea, 2007).

distribution within Europe

From Scandinavia to the Iberian Peninsula and Italy, and from Ireland to the Baltic States (Fauna Europaea, 2007).




Agromyza albohyalinata Zetterstedt, 1848, A. dubitata, A. fennica Griffiths, 1963.


Here and there some limited damage to cereal crops (Darvas, Skuhravá & Andersen, 2000a).


Andersen (2016a), Andersen & Jonassen (1994a), Beiger (1989a), Benavent, Martínez, Moreno & Jiménez (2004a), Beuk (2002a), Buhr (1941b), Černý (2001a, 2009a, 2011a), Černý, Andrade, Gonçalves & von Tschirnhaus (2018a), Černý, Barták & Roháček (2004a), Černý, Barták & Vaněk (2009a), Černý & Merz (2007a), Černý & Vála (1999a), Černý, Vála & Barták (2001a), Ci̇velek, Çikman & Dursun (2008a), Darvas & Papp (1985a), Darvas, Skuhravá & Andersen (2000a), Dempewolf (2001a, 2004a), van Frankenhuyzen Houtman & Kabos (1982a), Griffiths (1962a, 1963a), Guglya (2021a), Hering (1957a), Huber (1969a), Manning (1956a), de Meijere (1924a, 1939a), Pakalniškis (1982b, 1998a, 2000a), Papp & Černý (2015a), Robbins (1991a), Scheirs, De Bruyn & Verdyck (1993a), Scheirs, De Bruyn & von Tschirnhaus (1996a, 1999a), Sasakawa (1961a), Sønderup (1949a), Spencer (1954b, 1972a,b, 1973b, 1976a), Süss (1992a), von Tschirnhaus (1999a), Vála & Rohacek (1983a).

Last modified 2.x.2021