Plant Parasites of Europe

leafminers, galls and fungi

Agromyza cinerascens

Agromyza cinerascens Macquart, 1835


Deep mine, descending from the leaf tip, irregularly widening. Frass deliquescent, only a few grains recognisable, mine greenish. Pupation outside the mine.


Poaceae, oligophagous

Dactylis glomerata; Milium effusum; Secale cereale.

Dactylis is the main hostplant.


Larvae in May-June (Hering, 1957a).


BE observed (Scheirs, De Bruyn & von Tschirnhaus, 1996a).

NE observed (de Meijere, 1924a, 1939a). According to Hering (1957a) a quite common species, but this does not apply (at least presently) to the Netherlands.

LUX not observed (Fauna Europaea, 2007).

distribution within Europe

From Scandinavia to the Iberian Peninsula and Italy, and from the UK to Belarus and Hungary (Fauna Europaea, 2007).


Below the mandibles no field with spiny warts. Front spiracles bifid, about 18 papillae. Rear spiracula rather strongly approaching, with 3 papillae. Mandibles with 2, not alternating, teeth.




De Meijere (1928a) described the puparium, but some years later (1934a) it appeared that had been working on a mixture of two closely related species, viz., cinerascens and intermittens. The colour of the puparium, as described in the first paper (“shining yellow- to brown red”) applied to intermittens.


Domomyza cinerascens.


The structure of the male genitalia indicates a close relationship with A. intermittens and A.luteitarsis (Spencer, 1990a); see also Griffiths (1963a). It is therefore reasonable to assume that the characteristic sickle-shaped papillae of the rear spiracula that are figured by Darvas, Skuhravá & Andersen (2000a) for the latter two species also occur in cinerascens.


Andersen (2016a), Beuk (2002a), Černý & Merz (2005a, 2007a), Černý & Vála (1999a), Černý, Vála & Barták (2001a), Dempewolf (2004a), van Frankenhuyzen, Houtman & Kabos (1982a), Griffiths (1963a), Hering (1925a, 1955b, 1957a), de Meijere, 1924a, 1939a), Pakalniškis (200a), Pakalniškis ao (2000a), Papp & Černý (2015a), Parmenter (1949a), Robbins (1991a), Sasakawa (1961a), Scheirs, De Bruyn & von Tschirnhaus (1996a), Spencer (1966b, 1972a, 1974a, 1976a, 1990a), Süss (1979a), von Tschirnhaus (1999a), Vála & Rohacek.

Last modified 10.iii.2018