Plant Parasites of Europe

leafminers, galls and fungi

Agromyza rondensis

Agromyza rondensis Strobl, 1900


Deep, transparant corridor-blotch. The mine begins not far from the leaf apex, at first running upwards as a narrow corridor, then reverses and quickly widens to a blotch. A single larva per mine. Frass in isolated grains. Pupation outside the mine (NB Beri (1984a, cited by Dempewolf, 2004a) writes that pupation takes place within the mine).

host plants

Poaceae, broadly oligophagous

Arrhenatherum; Avena; Brachypodium; Bromus; Calamagrostis; Dactylis; Elytrigia repens;Hordeum; Piptatherum; Poa; Secale; Sorghum; Triticum aestivum.


Larvae from April till September (Spencer, 1973b).


BE recorded (De Bruyn & von Tschirnhaus, 1991a).

NE not recorded (Fauna Europaea, 2007).

LUX not recorded (Fauna Europaea, 2007).

distribution within Europe

From Scandinavia to the Iberian Peninsula, Italy and Thrace, and from the UK to Belarus and Roumania (Fauna Europaea, 2007).


Described by de Meijere (1943a, as ocellaris), Spencer (1973b), Beri (1984a) and Dempewolf (2004a). The rear end of the is cut off more or less at a right angle, not obliquely, as in many other Agromyza species. Front spiraculum with 6-8 papillae in an ellips; rear spiracula on a protuberance, set widely apart (about 4 times their diameter), with 3 papillae. Mandible alternating, with 2 teeth, the distal one much larger than the proximal. Behind the mandibles a field with fine, recurved spinulation (character of the ambigua species group of Griffiths, 1963a).


Agromyza nigrifemur Hendel, 1931; A. ocellaris Hendel, 1920; A. veris Hering, 1951.


Mines mainly on the lower leaves (Hering, 1957a).


Andersen (2016a), Andersen & Jonassen (1994a), Beiger (1979a), Benavent, Martínez, Moreno & Jiménez (2004a), De Bruyn & von Tschirnhaus (1991a), Černý (2011a), Černý, Andrade, Gonçalves & von Tschirnhaus (2018a), Černý, Barták & Vaněk (2009a), Černý & Merz (2006a, 2007a), Černý & Vála (1999a, 2006a), Černý, Vála & Barták (2001a), Ci̇velek, Çikman & Dursun (2008a), Dempewolf (2004a), Drăghia (1970a), Gallo (1996a), Gil Ortiz (2009a), Griffiths (1962a, 1963a), Hering (1955b, 1957a, 1956a), Martinez (1984a), de Meijere (1943a), Pakalniškis (1993a, 1998a), Papp & Černý (2015a), Robbins (1991a), Spencer (1956a, 1960a, 1966a,b, 1972a,b, 1973b, 1974a, 1976a), von Tschirnhaus (1999a), Zlobin (1986b).

Last modified 1.i.2019