Plant Parasites of Europe

leafminers, galls and fungi

Cerodontha iraeos

Cerodontha iraeos (Robineau-Desvoidy, 1851)

Cerodontha iraeos: mine on Iris pseudacorus

Iris pseudacorus, Dronten © Arnold Grosscurt

Cerodontha iraeos: puparium in the mine

high in the mine the puparium is visible….

Cerodontha iraeos: frass lump

low the single black lump comprising all the frass


Irregularly corridor, essentially parallel to the leaf shape. Mine white when seen from above, uniformly greenish when seen lighted from behind. Frass in one, rarely more, big black lump. Larva solitary. Pupation in the mine; puparium parallel to the leaf venation.

host plants

Iridaceae, narrowly monophagous

Iris pseudacorus.

In gardens also I. sibirica.

Chałańska ao report the species also from Iris x germanica. Surányi (1942a) and Kabos (1971a) also mention Typha latifolia as a host plant; this is intriguing, since no single Cerodontha is known to occur on Typha (Nowakowski, 1973a). Benavent, Martínez, Moreno & Jiménez (2004a) mention, next to Iris, also Belamcanda, Gladiolus and Typha; confirmation is urgently needed here.


Larvae in June-October (Nowakowski, 1973a).


BE recorded (De Bruyn & von Tschirnhaus, 1991a).

NE recorded (de Meijere, 1924a [as Dizygomya morosa], 1939a).

LUX recorded (Ellis: Kautenbach).

distribution within Europe

From Scandinavia to the Iberian Peninsula, and from Ireland to Belarus and Roumania (Fauna Europaea, 2007); also Corsica (Buhr, 1941b).




C. ircos; C. ireos: misspelling; Phytobia iraeos; Dizygomyza morosa: de Meijere, 1925a.

parasitoids, predators

Chrysocharis polyzo; Hemiptarsenus unguicellus.


Member of the subgenus Dizygomyza (Nowakowski, 1973a).


Allen (1958a), Andersen (2012a), Andersen & Jonassen (1994a), Beiger (1979a), Benavent, Martínez, Moreno & Jiménez (2004a), Beuk (2002a), Bland (1992b, 1994b), De Bruyn & von Tschirnhaus (1991a), Buhr (1932a, 1941b, 1964a), Černý (2001a), Černý, Andrade, Gonçalves & von Tschirnhaus (2018a), Černý & Merz (2006a, 2007a), Černý & Vála (1999a), Chałańska, Łabanowski & Soika (2006a), Dempewolf (2001a), Dursun, Civelek, Barták ao (2015a), Eiseman & Lonsdale (2018a), van Frankenhuyzen Houtman & Kabos (1982a), Griffiths (1962a), Guglya (2021a), Hering (1955b, 1957a), Huber (1969a), Kabos (1971a), Kvičala (1938a), Manning (1956a), de Meijere (1925a, 1939a), Michalska (1970a, 1976a), Nowakowski (1973a), Pakalniškis (1986a, 1998a), Papp & Černý (2016a), Popescu-Gorj & Drăghia (1966a), Robbins (1991a), Sasakawa (1961a), Scheirs, De Bruyn & Verdyck (1993a), Skala & Zavřel (1945a), Sønderup (1949a), Spencer (1972a, 1976a), Starke (1942a), Starý (1930a), Stolnicu (2008a), Süss (1999a), Surányi (1942a), von Tschirnhaus (1999a), Zoerner (1969a).

Last modified