Plant Parasites of Europe

leafminers, galls and fungi

Cerodontha morosa

Cerodontha morosa (Meigen, 1839)


Long, upper-surface corridor, mainly in the central part of the blade. The mines descends, but changes direction a few times. Frass in one big lump. Pupation in the mine.

host plants

Cyperaceae, widely monophagous

Carex acuta, acutiformis, brizoides, echinata, elata, grayi, hirta, pallescens, panicea, pseudocyperus, riparia, rostrata, vesicaria, vulpina.

Probably the most important ones are acutiformis and hirta. Possibly also on Scirpus sylvaticus.


Larvae in May-June, possibly later a second generation (Hering, 1957a).


BE recorded (De Bruyn & von Tschirnhaus, 1991a).

NE not recorded. De Meijere does include Dizygomyza morosa in his final checklist (1939a), but he mentions in synonymy riparia van der Wulp and laterella Zetterstedt. The interpretation of the first name is not known, laterella is a synonym of C. bimaculata. Also from earlier publications by de Meijere (1928a, 1934a, 1938a) no clear picture emerges about his interpretation of morosa.

LUX not recorded (Fauna Europaea, 2007).

distribution within Europe

From Iceland and Scandinavia to the Iberian Peninsula and Italy, and from Ireland to Belarus and Hungary (Fauna Europaea, 2007).


Described by Hering (1926b), Nowakowski (1973a) and Beri (1971b, as graminiphila). Rear spiraculum with 3 elongated papillae; 2 of them are curved around the base of the spiraculum. At least part of the descriptions by de Meijere (1928a, 1934a, 1938a) refer to other species.


Agromyza grossicornis Zetterstedt, 1860; Cerodontha islandica Griffiths, 1968; C. gallica Nowakowski, 1967; C. graminiphila Garg, 1971.


Member of the subgenus Dizygomyza (Nowakowski, 1973a).

Spencer (1971b) warns that most identifications of the 50 years before 1970 (including those by Hering) in fact refer to C. suturalis.


Andersen (2012a), Beiger (1960a, 1965a), Beuk (2002a), Buhr (1932a), Černý (2001a, 2007a, 2011a), Černý, Andrade, Gonçalves & von Tschirnhaus (2018a), Černý, Barták & Vaněk (2009a), Černý & Merz (2007a), Černý & Vála (1999a), Černý, Vála & Barták (2001a), Černý & van Zuijlen (2022a), Eiseman & Lonsdale (2018a), Eiseman, Lonsdale, van der Linden ao (2021a), van Frankenhuyzen Houtman & Kabos (1982a), Hering (1955b, 1957a), Huber (1969a), Kabos (1971a), Kvičala (1938a), Martinez (1987a), de Meijere (1928a, 1934a, 1938a, 1939a), Nowakowski (1973a), Pakalniškis (1986a, 1998a), Papp & Černý (2016a), Sasakawa (1961a), Skala & Zavřel (1945a), Sønderup (1949a), Spencer (1976a), Starke (1942a), Starý (1930a), Süss (1982a), Vála & Rohacek (1983a), von Tschirnhaus (1999a), Zlobin (1986b).

Last modified 24.ii.2024