Plant Parasites of Europe

leafminers, galls and fungi

Cerodontha pygmaea

Cerodontha pygmaea (Meigen, 1830)

Broad elongated blotch. Frass greenish. Larvae generally communal. Pupation within the mine. The black puaria are individually anchored within the mine with a silken thread attached at their rear end. Distinguishable from C. incisa only by means of the larva.

host plants

Poaceae, broadly oligophagous

Agrostis capillaris, stolonifera; Ammocalamagrostis baltica; Ammophila arenaria; Anisantha tectorum; Apera spica-venti; Arrhenatherum elatius; Avena sativa; Avenula; Brachypodium pinnatum, sylvaticum; Calamagrostis arundinacea, canescens, epigeios; Dactylis glomerata & subp. lobaata; Deschampsia cespitosa; Drymochloa sylvatica; Elymus caninus; Elytrigia repens; Glyceria; Holcus lanatus; Hordeum vulgare; Lolium perenne; Melica nutans; Milium effusum; Molinia caerulea; Phalaris; Phleum pratense; Phragmites australis; Poa compressa, pratensis, trivialis; Schedonorus giganteus; Secale cereale; Setaria pumila; Triticum aestivum.


Larvae in (May) June-September (October) (Nowakowski, 1973a).


BE recorded (Scheirs & De Bruyn, 1992a).

NE recorded (de Meijere, 1924a, 1939a).

LUX not recorded (Fauna Europaea, 2007).

distribution within Europe

From Scandinavia to the Iberian Peninsula, Italy and Serbia, and from Ireland to the Baltic States and Hungary (Fauna Europaea, 2007).


Rear spiraculum with three claw-shaped papillae. At their outside, half-ventrally, a relatively large black “wart” with a deep, well-visible “root” (Nowakowski, 1973).


Metallic black with a violet or blue shine. Rear spiracula on a common base (Nowakowski, 1973a).


Dizygomyza, Phytobia pygmaea; Cerodontha verrucosa (Hendel, 1931).


Member of the subgenus Poemyza (Nowakowski, 1973a).


Ahr (1966a), Beiger (1955a, 1960a, 1965a, 1970a, 1979a, 1989a), Beuk (2002a), Buhr (1932a), Černý (2007a, 2011a), Černý, Andrade, Gonçalves & von Tschirnhaus (2018a), Černý, Barták & Vaněk (2009a), Černý & Merz (2006a, 2007a), Černý, Vála & Barták (2001a), Ci̇velek, Çikman & Dursun (2008a), van Frankenhuyzen Houtman & Kabos (1982a), Griffiths (1962a, 1963b), Guglya (2021a), Hering (1924b, 1927a, 1955b, 1957a), Huber (1969a), Kabos (1971a), Manning (1956a), de Meijere (1924a, 1939a), Michalska (1970a, 1972a, 1976a), Michna (1975a), Nartshuk (2011a), Nowakowski (1973a), Pakalniškis (1990a, 1998a), Papp & Černý (2016a), Robbins (1991a), Scheirs, De Bruyn & von Tschirnhaus (1996a), Scheirs, De Bruyn & Verdyck (1993a), Skala & Zavřel (1945a), Spencer (1953a, 1957a, 1972a,b, 1976a), Starke (1942a), Starý (1930a), von Tschirnhaus (1999a), Withers (2007a), Zoerner (1970a)

Last modified 5.x.2021