Plant Parasites of Europe

leafminers, galls and fungi

Phytomyza angelicae

Phytomyza angelicae Kaltenbach, 1872

on Apiaceae

Phytomyza angelicae: mines on Angelica sylvestris

Angelica sylvestris, Flevoland, Reve-Abbertbos, © Hans Jonkman

Phytomyza angelicae: mine on Angelica sylvestris

mine, upper side

Phytomyza angelicae: mine on Angelica sylvestris

Angelica sylvestris, Belgium, prov. Namur, Philippeville, Sart-en-Fagne, RN Les Tournailles © Stéphane Claerebout

Phytomyza angelicae: larva



Angelica sylvestris, Kortenhoef


Angelica sylvestris, Amsterdam: young mine


Round or oval blotch, green at first, later yellowish. The young mine is interparenchymatous, only the older mines are truly full depth. Generally several larvae in a communal mine. Pupation outside the mine. Exit slit in lower epidermis.

host plants

Apiaceae, oligophagous

Aegopodium podagraria; Angelica archangelica, archangelica subsp. litoralis, sylvestris; Heracleum sphondylium; Laserpitium latifolium; Siler montanum.

Only rarely on Aegopodium; possibly also Caucalis. According to Griffiths (1973c) also on Heracleum, but this seems to be the case only in North America.


Larvae between June and September in two generations (Hering, 1957a).


BE recorded (Scheirs, De Bruyn & von Tschirnhaus, 1999a).

NE recorded (de Meijere, 1924a).

LUX recorded (Ellis: Flaxweiler, Hobscheid).

distribution within Europe

From Iceland and Scandinavia to the Pyrenees and Italy, and from Ireland to the Baltic States, Poland and Austria; also Thrace (Fauna Europaea, 2008).




Phytomyza aegopodii Hendel, 1923 (Spencer, 1976a, von Tschirnhaus (1999a; the Fauna Europaea (2008) however considers aegopodii an independent species); Ph. laserpitii Hendel, 1924.

parasitoids, predators

Chrysocharis viridis.


Ahr (1966a), Allen (1956a, 1957b), Andersen & Jonassen (1994a), Beiger (1960a, 1965a, 1970a), Beuk (2002a), Bland (1992b), Buhr (1932a, 1964a), Černý (2007a), Černý, Barták & Vaněk (2009a), Černý & Merz (2007a), Černý & Vála (1996a, 1999a), Ci̇velek, Çikman & Dursun (2008a), Dreger & Myssura (2005a), van Frankenhuyzen, Houtman & Kabos (1982a), Griffiths (1964a, 1973c), Haase (1942a), Hartig (1939a), Hering (1925a, 1955b, 1957a), Huber (1969a), Kabos (1971a), Kahanpää (2014a), Kvičala (1938a), de Meijere (1924a, 1926a, 1939a), Manning (1956a), Michalska (1970a, 2004a), Niblett (1956a), Nowakowski (1954a), Pakalniškis (1983a), Popescu-Gorj & Drăghia (1968a), Scheirs, De Bruyn & von Tschirnhaus (1999a), Skala (1936a), Skala & Zavřel (1945a), Sønderup (1949a), Spencer (1953a, 1972a, 1976a), Starke (1942a), Starý (1930a), von Tschirnhaus (1999a), Ureche (2010a), Zoerner (1969a).

Last modified 18.iii.2023