Plant Parasites of Europe

leafminers, galls and fungi

Phytomyza rufipes

Phytomyza rufipes Meigen, 1830


The mine begins somewhere in the leaf, generally at the lower surface, not far from the leaf margin. From there a corridor runs randomly, until it hits upon a vein. Thd corridor then follows this vein until it reaches the midrib. Then the larva starts to bore into the midrib, and may descend into the petiole or even the stem. Pupation may take place either within or outside the mine.

host plants

Brassicaceae, oligophagous

Alliaria petiolata; Armoracia rusticana; Brassica napus, oleracea; Conringia; Diplotaxis; Moricandia; Myagrum perfoliatum; Peltaria; Raphanus; Rorippa; Sinapis arvensis; Sisymbrium.

May develop into a serious pest in cultivated cabbage crops (Darvas, Skuhravá & Andersen, 2000a; Dempewolf, 2004a; Spencer, 1973b, 1976a).


Larvae in May-June (Hering, 1957a).


BE recorded (Scheirs, De Bruyn & Verdyck, 1993a).

NE recorded (de Meijere (1924a).

LUX not recorded (Fauna Europaea, 2008).

distribution within Europe

Entire Western Europe (Fauna Europaea, 2008).


Rear spiraculum with 25-30 papillae (de Meijere, 1926a; Spencer, 1973b).


Yellowish (Spencer, 1973b).

parasitoids, predators

Stenomalina gracilis.


Phytomyza sulphuripes Meigen, 1830; Ph. ruficornis Zetterstedt, 1848; Ph. brassicae Hardy, 1853; Ph. femoralis Brischke, 1871; Ph. genislatissimus Strobl, 1893; Ph. bistrigata Strobl, 1906.


Andersen (2013a), Andersen & Jonassen (1994a), Beiger (1989a), Benavent, Martínez, Moreno & Jiménez (2004a), Beuk (2002a), Buhr (1932a), Černý, Andrade, Gonçalves & von Tschirnhaus (2018a), Černý, Barták & Vaněk (2009a), Černý & Merz (2007a), Černý & Vála (1999a, Černý, Vála & Barták (2001a), Ci̇velek, Çikman & Dursun (2008a), Civelek, Deeming & Önder (2000a), Darvas, Skuhravá & Andersen (2000a), Dempewolf (2004a), Drăghia (1974a), Dreger & Myssura (2005a), Gil Ortiz (2009a), Günthart (1949a), Hering (1955b, 1957a), Kabos (1971a), Masetti, Lanzoni, Burgio & Süss (2004a), de Meijere (1924a, 1926a, 1939a), Pakalniškis (1990a), Robbins (1991a), Scheffer & Winkler (2008a), Scheirs, De Bruyn & von Tschirnhaus (1996a), Scheirs, De Bruyn & Verdyck (1993a), Spencer (1966a, 1972a,b, 1973b, 1976a), Starke (1942a), Süss (1982a, 1999a), Surányi (1942a), von Tschirnhaus (1999a), Vála & Rohacek, 1983a.

Last modified 12.vii.2022