Plant Parasites of Europe

leafminers, galls and fungi

Phytomyza tanaceti

Phytomyza tanaceti Hendel, 1923

Phytomyza tanaceti: mine on Tanacetum vulgare

Tanacetum vulgare, Belgium, prov. Namur, Montagne-au-Buis © Stéphane Claerebout

Phytomyza tanaceti: mine on Tanacetum vulgare

underside of the same leaf

Phytomyza tanaceti mine

Tanacetum vulgare, Rhenen: upper side

Phytomyza tanaceti mine

lower side


Upper-surface, often brownish, corridor, in the end often occupying the width of a leaf segment. Older segments of the mine are much less conspicuous, lower-surface and quite shallow. Where upper- and lower-surface stretches overlap transparant patches occur, when the leaf is illuminated from behind. Frass in isolated grains, sometimes locally pearl chains. Pupation outside the mine.

host plants

Asteraceae, oligophagous

Achillea clavennae, erba-rotta subsp. moschata, millefolium, ptarmica; Coleostephus myconis; Leucanthemum vulgare; Tanacetum cinerariifolium, corymbosum, macrophyllum, vulgare.

Spencer (1976a) includes Achillea millefolium, but this may stem from the mistake by de Meijere (see “notes”, below).


Larvae from June to September (Hering, 1957a).


BE recorded (Ellis: Nismes).

NE recorded (Ellis, numerous localities).

LUX recorded (Elis: Kautenbach, Ahn).

distribution within Europe

From Scandinavia and Finland to the Pyrenees and Alps, and from Ireland to Slovakia (Fauna Europaea, 2008).





Phytomyza klimeschi Hering, 1943.


Recorded from the Netherlands by de Meijere (1924a, 1926a), based on material reared from Achillea millefolium. Probably this is what made Beuk (1999a) include tanaceti in his checklist of Dutch Agromyzidae. However, later (1937a), after having seen larvae from Tanacetum vulgare, de Meijere realized that the earlier material actually referred to Ph. matricariae [now pullula]. He did not specify the origin of the Tanacetum material, but probably it did not come from the Netherlands, because tanaceti was not included in de Meijere’s 1939 checklist.


Ahr (1966a), Andersen (2013a), Beiger (1960a, 1978a, 1979a), Beuk (1999a), Buhr (1932a, 1941b, 1964a), Černý (2001a), Černý & Vála (1999a), Drăghia (1968a, 1970a), Dreger & Myssura (2005a), Gil Ortiz (2009a), Gil-Ortiz, Martinez & Jiménez-Peydró (2010a), Hering (1926b, 1943a, 1957a, 1967a), Huber (1969a), Kvičala (1938a), Maček (1999a), Manning (1956a), de Meijere (1924a, 1926a, 1937a, 1939a), Michalska (2003a), Nowakowski (1954a), Ostrauskas, Pakalniškis & Taluntytė (2003a), Pakalniškis (1990a, 1994a), Robbins (1991a), Roháček, Černý, Ebejer & Kubík (2020a), Schmitz (1998a), Skala & Zavřel (1945a), Sønderup (1949a), Spencer (1953a, 1971a, 1972a, 1976a), Starý (1930a), Surányi (1942a), von Tschirnhaus (1999a), Zoerner (1969a, 1970a).

Last modified 21.iii.2024