Plant Parasites of Europe

leafminers, galls and fungi

Contarinia loti

Contarinia loti (De Geer, 1776)

on Lotus

Contarinia loti gall on Lotus corniculatus

Lotus corniculatus, Delfgauw: galled and normal inflorescence © Ben van As

Contarinia loti gall

Lotus corniculatus, Belgium, prov. Liège, Villers-le-Bouillet © Jean-Yves Baugnée

Contarinia loti: opened gall on Lotus corniculatus

Lotus corniculatus, Utrecht, Terwijden © Arnold Grosscurt

Contarinia loti on Lotus tenuis

Lotus tenuis, France, dép. Lorraine, Etang de Lachaussée © Sébastien Carbonnelle

Contarinia loti: gall on Lotus corniculatus

Lotus corniculatus, België, prov. Namen, Treignes, RN Champ d’Al Vau © Stéphane Claerebout

Contarinia loti: larvae

opened gall


One or more yellow or white larvae in a gall; they can jump. Two or more generations per year; hibernation in the soil.

host plants

Fabaceae, monophagous

Lotus angustissimus, arenarius, corniculatus, pedunculatus, tenuis.


Contarinia loti: spatula

spatula with papillae (from Möhn, 1955a)


Diplosis loti.


Béguinot (2001c,f, 2006a,c, 2007b, 2012a), Bellmann (2012a), Bruun (2015a), Buhr (1964b), Coulianos & Holmåsen (1991a), Dauphin & Aniotsbehere (1997a), Dietrich (2016a), Houard (1909a), Kieffer (1890b), Koops (2013a), Lambinon, Carbonnelle & Claerebout (2015a), Lambinon Schneider & Feitz (2012a), Lehmann & Flügel (2012a), Lehmann & Hannover (2016a), O’Connor & Wistow (1999a), Redfern & Shirley (2011a), Roskam (2009a), Roskam & Carbonnelle (2015a), Sánchez, Skuhravá & Skuhravý (2012a), Simova-Tošić, Skuhravá & Skuhravý (1996a, 2000a, 2004a, 2007a), Simova-Tošić, Skuhravá, Skuhravý & Postolovski (2007a), Skrzypczyńska (2007a), Skuhravá & Skuhravý (1994a,b, 1997a, 1999a,b, 2003a, 2005c,2006a, 2007a, 2009a, 2010a, 2012a), Skuhravá, Skuhravý & Buhr (2013a), Skuhravá, Skuhravý, Dauphin & Coutin (2005a), Skuhravá, Skuhravý, Dončev & Dimitrova (1991a, 1992a), Skuhravá, Skuhravý & Jørgensen (2006a), Skuhravá, Skuhravý & Hellrigl (2001a, 2002a), Skuhravá, Skuhravý & Meyer (2014a), Skuhravá, Skuhravý & Neacsu (1972a), Sylvén (1960a), Skuhravá, Skuhravý, Skrzypczyńska & Szadziewski (2008a), Stănescu (2009a), Sylvén (1983a), Tavares (1905a), Tomasi (2012a, 2014a), Widenfalk, Gyllenstrand, Sylvén & Solbreck (2002a).

Last modified 21.viii.2019