Plant Parasites of Europe

leafminers, galls and fungi

Contarinia tiliarum

Contarinia tiliarum (Kieffer, 1890)

on Tilia

Contarinia tiliarum: galls on Tilia cordata

Tilia cordata, Hungary, Mosonmagyaróvár, © László Érsek

Contarinia tiliarum: larvae in opened gall

larvae in opened gall

Contarinia tiliarum: larva

larva dorsal view,

Contarinia tiliarum: larva


Contarinia tiliarum: larva


Contarinia tiliarum gall

Tilia platyphyllos, Belgium, prov. Liège, Angleur, Île aux Corsaires, 16.v.2009 © Jean-Yves Baugnée

Contarinia tiliarum gall

same gall


Tilia platyphyllos, Vorden, 30.v.2008: opened gall

Contarinia tiliarum: galls on Tilia platyphyllos

Tilia platyphyllos, Sleen, 30.v.2013 © Arnold Grosscurt: galls may also be formed in the thicker leaf veins

Contarinia tiliarum: galls on Tilia platyphyllos

same leaf, underside


Larvae yellow, able to jump. Galls are formed in the petioles, peduncles and young shoots. There is one larval generation per year; hibernation in the soil.

host plants

Malvaceae, monophagous

Tilia cordata, x europaea, platyphyllos, tomentosa.


Contarinia tiliarum: spatula

spatula with papillae (from Möhn, 1955a)


Diplosis tiliarum.


Lasioptera tiliarum; Macrolabis floricola.

parasitoids, predators

Omphale lugens; Torymus eglanteriae.


Barnes (1951a), Beguinot (2002e, 2006c, 2007b), Bellmann (2012a), Buhr (1965a), Chinery (2011a), Cogolludo (1921a), Coulianos & Holmåsen (1991a), Dauphin & Aniotsbehere (1997a), Flügel (2016a), Gagné (2010a), Gagné & Jaschhof (2014a), de Vere Graham & Gijswijt (1998a), Groom (2011a), Hansson & Shevtsova (2012a), Hellrigl (2010a), Houard (1909a), Kieffer (1891a), Kollár (2007a, 2011a), Koops (2013a), Lambinon, Schneider & Feitz (2001b), Lehmann & Hannover (2016a), Möhn (1955a), Pellizzari (2010a), Redfern & Shirley (2011a), Roques, Cleary, Matsiakh & Eschem (2017a), Roskam (2009a), Roskam & Carbonnelle (2015a), Simova-Tošić, Skuhravá & Skuhravý (1996a, 2000a, 2004a, 2007a), Simova-Tošić, Skuhravá, Skuhravý & Postolovski (2007a), Skrzypczyńska (2007a), Skuhravá (2006a), Skuhravá & Skuhravý (1994a, 1997a, 1999a, 2007a, 2010a, 2012a. 2021a: 281), Skuhravá, Skuhravý, Blasco-Zumeta & Pujade-Villar (2006a), Skuhravá, Skuhravý & Carbonnelle (2017a), Skuhravá, Skuhravý, Dauphin & Coutin (2005a), Skuhravá, Skuhravý, Dončev & Dimitrova (1991a, 1992a), Skuhravá, Skuhravý & Jørgensen (2006a), Skuhravá, Skuhravý & Meyer (2014a), Skuhravá, Skuhravý & Neacsu (1972a), Skuhravá, Skuhravý, Skrzypczyńska & Szadziewski (2008a), Sylvén (1960a), Tomasi (2014a).

Last modified 29.v.2022