Aphis sambuci Linnaeus, 1758

elder aphid

on Sambucus, primary host plant

Aphis sambuci: apterae

Sambucus spec., Engeland © Bob Dransfield & Bob Brightwell, InfluentialPoints: apterae with syrphid larva

Aphis sambuci: colony on Sambucus nigra

Sambucus nigra, Hungary, Nagykovácsi, 2.v.2019 © László Érsek

Aphis sambuci: apterae


Aphis sambuci: larva


Aphis sambuci: larva


Aphis sambuci: larval alatae

larval alatae

Aphis sambuci: alate


Aphis sambuci: colony on Sambucus nigra

Sambucus nigra, Hungary, Budapest, 29.iii.2016 © László Érsek

Aphis sambuci: colony on Sambucus nigra


Aphis sambuci: ant visit

ant visit


Aphids in dense colonies on the young branches. Sometimes they may persist all summer on the primary host plant, but seemingly males are produced only on the secondary hosts.

host plants

Adoxaceae, monophagous

Sambucus ebulus, maderensis, nigra, racemosa.

on herbs


Apterae at the roots; ant-attended.

secondary host plants

mainly Caryophyllaceae

Capsella bursa-pastoris; Cerastium; Chenopodium album; Dianthus carthusianorum; Oenothera fruticosa; Ononis spinosa; Persicaria lapathifolia; Rumex crispus, obtusifolius; Saxifraga; Silene saxifraga, suecica, vulgaris; Moehringia trinervia; Sonchus oleraceus; Spergula arvensis; Syringa vulgaris.

A reference to Sonchus oleraceus by Mier Durante ao (1998a) was a mistake, teste Pérez Hidalgo ao (2001a).


Aphis sambucina Börner, 1940.
Aphis austriaca Hille Ris Lambers, 1959 is very closely related with sambuci, probably no more than a form that lives permanently on the secondary host (Blackman & Eastop)


Barbagallo, Binazzi, Pennacchio & Pollini (2011a), Barbagallo & Massimino Cocuzza (2014a), Barbagallo & Pollini (2014a), Blackman & Eastop (2014), Börner & Franz (1956a), Buhr (1965a), Durak, Durak & Borowiak-Sobkowiak (2011a), Franquinho Aguiar, Ilharco, Khadem & Moreira (2013a), Heie (1986a), Hellrigl (2004a), Hille Ris Lambers (1959a), Kollár (2007a), Lampel (1988a), Lampel & Meier (2007a), Mier Durante & Nieto Nafría (1983a), Mier Durante, Seco Fernández & Nieto Nafría (1989a), Müller & Horatschek (1980a), Nieto Nafría & Mier Durante (1982a), Nieto Nafría, Mier Durante, García Prieto & Pérez Hidalgo (2005a), Nieto Nafría, Muñoz Martínez & Mier Durante (1987a), Osiadacz & Wojciechowski (2008a), Pérez Hidalgo, Martínez Peláez & Nieto Nafría (2001a), Petrović (1998a), Rakauskas & Trukšinaitė (2011a), Ripka, Reider & Szalay-Marzsó (1998a), Roskam (2009a), Soika & Łabanowski (0000a), Suay Cano & González Funes (1998a), Tambs-Lyche & Heie (1994a), Tomasi (2003a, 2012a, 2014a), Weis (1955a), Wilkaniec & Piekarska-Boniecka (2008a), Wojciechowski, Depa, Halgoš ao (2016a).

mod 17.vii.2019