Hyalopterus pruni (Geoffroy, 1762)

mealy plum aphid

on Prunus, primary host plant

Hyalopterus pruni: aphids on Prunus sp.

Prunus sp. © Encyclop’Aphid

Hyalopterus pruni: damage to Prunus spinosa

Prunus spinosa, Dronten © Arnold Grosscurt

Hyalopterus pruni: apterae on Prunus spinosa



aphids in the underside of leaves, without causing them to curl (but see note below). Not attended by ants.


Rosacae, monophagous

Prunus armeniaca, avium, cerasifera, domestica & subsp. insititia, dulcis, laurocerasus, mahaleb, persica, spinosa


according to Blackman & Eastop lives the species primarily on Prunus domestica, rarely on other Prunus species, notably P. dulcis. Apparently sloe is an exceptional host plant. This perhaps explains the discrepancy between their observation that no leaf curling does take place, and the picture above.

on Arundo, Phragmites, secondary host plants

Hyalopterus pruni: aphids on Phragmites australis

Phragmites australis, Zeewolde, Harderbos © Hans Jonkman

Hyalopterus pruni: aphids on Phragmites australis

Phragmites australis, Belgium, prov. Hainaut, Virelles © Sébastien Carbonnelle

Hyalopterus pruni: aphids on Phragmites australis

Phragmites australis, England © Bob Dransfield & Bob Brightwell, InfluentialPoints

Hyalopterus pruni: aphids on Phragmites australis

a typical colony


Poaceae, oligophagous

Arundo donax; Phragmites australis.

Also Calamagrostis; Deschampsia; Molinia; Phalaroides arundinacea; Poa; Typha latifolia.


Hyalopterus arundinis (Fabricius, 1775).


Barbagallo, Binazzi, Pennacchio & Pollini (2011a), Barbagallo & Massimino Cocuzza (2014a), Blackman & Eastop (2014), Börner & Franz (1956a), Buhr (1964a, 1965a) Danielsson (1974a), Dauphin & Aniotsbehere (1997a), Durak, Durak & Borowiak-Sobkowiak (0000a), Heie (1986a), Hellrigl (2004a), Houard (1908a), Lampel & Meier (2007), Mier Durante, Seco Fernández & Nieto Nafría (1989a), Müller & Horatschek (1980a), Nieto Nafría & Mier Durante (1982a), Nieto Nafría, Mier Durante, García Prieto & Pérez Hidalgo (2005a), Nieto Nafría, Muñoz Martínez & Mier Durante (1987a), Osiadacz & Wojciechowski (2008a), Petrović (1998a), Piron (2017a), Rakauskas & Trukšinaitė (2011a), Ripka (2011a), Ripka, Reider & Szalay-Marzsó (1998a), Stănescu (2009a), Suay Cano & González Funes (1998a), Tambs-Lyche & Heie (1994a), Tomasi (2014a), Weis (1955a).

mod 27.v.2018