Plant Parasites of Europe

leafminers, galls and fungi

Dysaphis crataegi

Dysaphis crataegi (Kaltenbach, 1843)

hawthorn-carrot aphid

on Crataegus, primary host plant

Dysaphis crataegi s.l.: gall on Crataegus monogyna

Crataegus monogyna Hungary, Budapest © László Érsek; D. crataegi sensu lato!

Dysaphis crataegi s.l.: apterae


Dysaphis crataegi s.l.: apterae


Dysaphis crataegi s.l.: alata



leaves partly curled and cherry-red with a sharp demarcation between green and red. The aphids are greenish or grey, covered by powdery wax; the feet are black. Cauda short.

host plants

Rosaceae, monophagous

Crataegus laevigata, monogyna.

on Apiaceae, secondary host plants

Dysaphis crataegi crataegi: aptera on Anthriscus sylvestris

Anthriscus sylvestris, UK © Bob Dransfield & Bob Brightwell, InfluentialPoints


Aphids on the roots. They are attended by ants both on the primary and on the secondary host plant.

Based on the secondary host plant, three subspecies are recognised. D. crataegi crataegi migrates to Daucus carota, less frequently also Anthriscus and Myrrhis. D. c. aethusae (Börner, 1950) migrates to Aethusa ad Torilis. D. c. kunzei (Börner, 1950) migrates to Pastinaca.

secondary host plants

Apiaceae, oligophagous

Aethusa cynapium; Anthriscus sylvestris; Chaerophyllum temulum; Daucus carota; Ferula communis; Heracleum sphondylium; Myrrhis odorata; Pastinaca sativa; Peucedanum alsaticum; Torilis arvensis subsp. neglecta, japonica.

The reference to Aegopodium podagraria by Buhr may be erroneous. Barbagallo ao report observations in Italy on Chaerophyllum and Heracleum without attributing them to a specific subspecies.


Jezabura, Yezabura crataegi.

The subspecies D. c. aegopodii (Börner, 1950) and D. c. anthrisci (Börner, 1950) are synonymous with the typical form.


Abras, Fassotte, Chandelier & Cavelier (2008a), Barbagallo, Binazzi, Pennacchio & Pollini (2011a), Barbagallo & Massimino Cocuzza (2014a), Blackman & Eastop (2017), Börner & Franz (1956a), Buhr (1964b), Chinery (2011a), Coulianos & Holmåsen (1991a), Dietrich (2016a), Ecott (2012a), Flügel (2016a), Heie (1992a), Hellrigl (2004a), Kollár (2007a, 2011a), Lambinon, Carbonnelle & Claerebout (2015a), Lambinon & Schneider (2004a), Lampel & Meier (2007a), Meliá Masiá (1986a), Mier Durante, Seco Fernández & Nieto Nafría (1989a), Nieto Nafría, Muñoz Martínez & Mier Durante (1987a), Pérez Hidalgo, Martínez Peláez & Nieto Nafría (2001a), Petrović (1998a), Rakauskas & Trukšinaitė (2011a), Redfern & Shirley (2011a), Ripka, Reider & Szalay-Marzsó (1998a), Redfern & Shirley (2011a), Roskam (2009a), Seco & Mier (1986a), Suay Cano & González Funes (1998b), Tambs-Lyche (1970a), Tomasi (2003a, 2012a), Wojciechowski, Depa, Halgoš ao (2016a).

Last modified 1.v.2023