Plant Parasites of Europe

leafminers, galls and fungi

Periphyllus testudinaceus

Periphyllus testudinaceus (Fernie, 1852)

common periphyllus-aphid

on Acer

Periphyllus  testudinaceus: alata on Acer pseudoplatanus

Acer pseudoplatanus, England, East Essex © Bob Dransfield & Bob Brightwell, Influential Points (there more pictures!)

Periphyllus testudinaceus: alate larva

Acer campestre, Nieuwendam

Periphyllus testudinaceus: alatae on Acer pseudoplatanus

Acer pseudoplatanus, landgoed Tongeren © Hans Jonkman

Periphyllus testudinaceus: aestivating larva

aestivating larva (from Hille Ris Lambers, 1947b)


the aptera is dirty green to dark brown, always with a number of transversal rows of black sclerites. No host plant alternation, often attended by ants. The aphids cause suction damage (disfiguring, growth disturbance) to the inflorescence and young foliage. During the warmest period of the summer the larvae go through an aestivation period; they are almost immobile and have an unique appearance.

host plants

Sapindaceae, almost monophagous

Acer buergerianum, campestre, davidii, davidii & subsp. grosseri, ginnala, granatense, japonicum, monspessulanum, negundo, oblongum, opalus, palmatum, pensylvanicum, platanoides, pseudoplatanum, rubrum, saccharinum, saccharum, tataricum.

The most common host plant is A. campestre; rarely also on Aesculus hippocastanum, x neglecta, pavia and Xanthoceras sorbifolium.


Periphyllus villosus (Hartig, 1841); P. testudinatus (Thornton, 1852).


Barbagallo, Binazzi, Pennacchio & Pollini (2011a), Barbagallo & Massimino Cocuzza (2014a), Barbagallo & Pollini (2014a), Blackman & Eastop (2016), Börner & Franz (1956a), Buhr (1964b), Dransfield & Brightwell (2015a), González Funes & Michelena Saval (1988a), Heie (1982a), Hellrigl (2004a), Hille Ris Lambers (1947b), Influential Points (2016), Junkiert, Wieczorek & Wojciechowski (2011a), Lampel & Meier (2003a), Lubiarz & Mackoś-Iwaszko (2015a), Mackoś (0000a), Mackoś-Iwaszko, Lubiarz & Karczmarz (2015a), Mier Durante & Nieto Nafría (1997a), Nieto Nafría & Mier Durante (1998a), Osiadacz & Wojciechowski (2008a), Pérez Hidalgo, Martínez Peláez & Nieto Nafría (2001a), Petrović (1998a), Piron (2017a), Ripka, Reider & Szalay-Marzsó (1998a), Rosman (2019a), Sylvén (1960a), Stroyan (1977a), Suay Cano & González Funes (1998c), Weis (1955a), Wieczorek & Junkiert (2012a), Wojciechowski, Depa, Halgoš ao (2016a).

Last modified 17.ix.2019