Plant Parasites of Europe

leafminers, galls and fungi

Eriosoma lanigerum

Eriosoma lanigerum (Hausmann, 1802)

woolly apple aphid, American blight

on Ulmus, primary host plant


In the older literature it was assumed that this species also, or perhaps originally, occurs in North America and there passes a spring generation on elm. Currently this vision is considered uncertain. In most parts of Europe the species lives permanently on its secondary host.

host plants

Ulmaceae, monophagous

Ulmus americana.

on Rosaceae, secondary host plants

Eriosoma lanigerum on Crataegus monogyna

Crataegus monogyna, Dronten, © Arnold Grosscurt

Eriosoma lanigerum on Malus domestica leaf

Malus domestica, Dronten, 1.vii.2019 © Arnold Grosscurt: colony on a leaf

Eriosoma lanigerum on Malus domestica

Malus domestica, Dronten, 11.viii.2019 © Arnold Grosscurt: remnants of a colony, some dead aphids on a galled twig.

Eriosoma lanigerum on Malus domestica

Malus domestica, Hungary, Mosonamgyaróvár, © László Érsek: colony

Eriosoma lanigerum on Malus domestica

preferent location of a colony

Eriosoma lanigerum on Malus domestica

often on thick branches

Eriosoma lanigerum on Malus domestica

detail of a colony

Eriosoma lanigerum on Malus domestica

With each moult the mass of wax threads is lost and the aphids are ‘nude’.

Eriosoma lanigerum gall

Malus spec., Belgium, Antwerp, 25.iv.2012 © Chris Snyers: gall

Eriosoma lanigerum old gall

old gall


aphids in wax-protected colonies in crevices and bark wounds. Th branches may become disfigured by canker-like swellings. In orchards it is a serious pest.

host plants

Rosaceae, oligophagous

Amelanchier; Cotoneaster horizontalis; Crataegus; Cydonia oblonga; Malus domestica, sylvestris; Prunus “communis”, domestica, dulcis; Pyracantha coccinea; Pyrus communis, nivalis; Sorbus.


Myzoxylus laniger.


Barbagallo, Binazzi, Pennacchio & Pollini (2011a), Barbagallo & Massimino Cocuzza (2014a), Bellmann (2012a), Blackman & Eastop (2014), Börner & Franz (1956a), Braggion (2013a), Buhr (1964b, 1965a), Danielsson (1979a), Dauphin & Aniotsbehere (1997a), Deckert & Deckert (2016a), Heie (1980a), Hellrigl (2004a), Houard (1908a), Japoshvili & Hansen (2014a), Lambinon, Carbonnelle & Claerebout (2015a), Lambinon & Schneider (2004a), Lampel & Meier (2003a), Nieto Nafría, Carnero Hernández & Mier Durante (1977a), Nieto Nafría, Mier Durante, Binazzi & Pérez Hidalgo (2002a), Petrović (1998a), Redfern & Shirley (2011a), Ripka, Reider & Szalay-Marzsó (1998a), Roskam (2009a), Tambs-Lyche & Heie (1994a), Tavares (1905a), Wojciechowski, Depa, Halgoš ao (2016a).

Last modified 23.iv.2023