Plant Parasites of Europe

leafminers, galls and fungi

Eriosoma ulmi

Eriosoma ulmi (Linnaeus, 1758)

elm-currant aphid

on Ulmus, primary host plant

Eriosoma ulmi gall on Ulmus minor

Ulmus spec, Voorne’s Duin © Ben van As

Eriosoma ulmi gall on Ulmus minor

another specimen

Eriosoma ulmi: gall on Ulmus glabra

Ulmus glabra, Zeewolde, Harderbos © Hans Jonkman: in the opening some wax-covered aphids can be seen.


Ulmus minor, Amsterdam, Nieuwendam: galled leaf part of the leaf

host plants

Ulmaceae, narrowly monophagous

Ulmus americana, glabra, minor, procera, pumila, thomasii.

Not on U. laevis (contra Houard)


the aphids in the gall are brownish to dull green, and covered by wax. Characteristically, only one half of the leaf is rolled inwards and thickened.


In the galls hunts Anthocoris gallarumulmi.

on Ribes, secondary host plant


aphids at the roots; the are 1-2 mm long, ± reddish brown, with some wax wool; they are not attended by ants.

host plants

Grossulariaceae, monophagous

Ribes aureum, nigrum, rubrum.

Less often also on R. oxycanthoides subsp. irriguum, sanguineum, and uva-crispa.


Schizoneura ulmi.


Barbagallo, Binazzi, Pennacchio & Pollini (2011a), Barbagallo & Massimino Cocuzza (2014a), Beguinot (2002a,e,f,h, 2003a, 2006c, 2012a), Bellmann (2012a), Blackman & Eastop (2014), Börner & Franz (1956a), Börner & Heinze (1957a), Buhr (1965a), Carter & Danielsson (1993a), Chinery (2011a), Cogolludo (1921a), Coulianos & Holmåsen (1991a), Danielsson (1979a, 1982a), Dauphin & Aniotsbehere (1997a), Dietrich (2016a), Durak, Durak & Borowiak-Sobkowiak (0000a, 2011a), Heie (1980a), Hellrigl (2004a), Houard (1908a), Kollár (2007a, 2011a), Kowalski (2004a), Koops (2013a), Lambinon & Schneider (2004a), Lampel & Meier (2003a), Lehmann & Flügel (2012a), Lehmann & Hannover (2016a), Mier Durante, Seco Fernández & Nieto Nafría (1989a), Nieto Nafría, Mier Durante, Binazzi & Pérez Hidalgo (2002a), Osiadacz & Wojciechowski (2008a), Pérez Hidalgo, Martínez Peláez & Nieto Nafría (2001a), Rakauskas & Trukšinaitė (2011a), Redfern & Shirley (2011a), Ripka, Reider & Szalay-Marzsó (1998a), Roskam (2009a), Stănescu (2009a), Suay Cano & González Funes (1998c), Sylvén (1960a), Szelegiewicz (1982b), Tambs-Lyche & Heie (1994a), Tomasi (2003a, 2012a, 2014a), Wojciechowski, Depa, Halgoš ao (2016a).

Last modified 4.iii.2022