Thecabius affinis (Kaltenbach, 1843)

poplar – buttercup gall-aphid

on Populus, primary host plant

Thecabius affinis: galls on Populus nigra

Populus nigra, Hungary, Mosonmagyaróvár, © László Érsek

Thecabius affinis: gall on Populus nigra

galled leaf

Thecabius affinis: gall on Populus nigra

another example

Thecabius affinis: opened gall

gall folded open

Thecabius affinis: aphids

apterae and one alate

Thecabius affinis: aphids

another image

Thecabius affinis: gall on Populus nigra

Populus nigra, Denmark © Simon Haarder

Thecabius affinis: galls on Populus nigra

three plucked galls


the fundatrix lives in a gall of her own: a downwards flap op the leaf margin, barely a cm in size. The gall of her direct offspring is a leaf of which the halves are folded downwards over the midrib, while the outside is covered with yellowish-reddish blisters.

host plants

Salicaceae, monophagous

Populus balsamifera, x berolinensis, canadensis, carolinensis, deltoides, grandidentata, x jackii, nigra, tomentosa, tremula, trichocarpa.


old and vacated galls may be taken over by Chaitophorus leucomelas.

on Ranunculus secondary host plant

Thecabius affinis: aphid on Ranunculus sp.

Ranunculus sp., Engeland © Bob Dransfield & Bob Brightwell, Influential Points


2-3 mm large, dirty yellowish green or yellowish-white aphids hidden by a shining white cover of wax-wool at the base of stems and on runners. They are unusual by missing siphunculi.

host plants

Ranunculaceae, oligophagous

Caltha palustris; Ranunculus acris, arvensis, bulbosus, cortusifolius, flammula, muricatus, repens, sardous, sceleratus.


Pemphigus affinis; Pemphigus ranunculi (Kaltenbach, 1843).


Barbagallo, Binazzi, Pennacchio & Pollini (2011a), Barbagallo & Massimino Cocuzza (2014a), Barbagallo & Pollini (2014a), Béguinot (2002h, 2003a, 2006c, 2007b, 2012a), Bellmann (2012a), Blackman & Eastop (2014, Blanes-Dalmau, Caballero-López & Pujade-Villar (2017a), Börner & Franz (1956a), Braggion (2013a), Buhr (1965a), Cogolludo (1921a), Coulianos & Holmåsen (1991a), Dauphin & Aniotsbehere (1997a), Dransfield & Brightwell (2015a), Franquinho Aguiar & Albano Ilharco (1997a), Heie (1980a), Hellrigl (2004a), Houard (1908a), Kollár (2011a), Koops (2013a), Lambinon, Carbonnelle & Claerebout (2015a), Lambinon & Schneider (2004a), Lampel & Meier (2003a), Nieto Nafría, Mier Durante, Binazzi & Pérez Hidalgo (2002a), Osiadacz & Wojciechowski (2008a), Rakauskas & Trukšinaitė (2011a), Redfern & Shirley (2011a), Roskam (2009a) Soika & Łabanowski (0000a), Stănescu (2009a), Tambs-Lyche & Heie (1994a), Tomasi (2003a, 2012a, 2014a), Wojciechowski, Depa, Halgoš ao (2016a).

mod 3.ii.2019