Plant Parasites of Europe

leafminers, galls and fungi

Fenella nigrita

Fenella nigrita Westwood, 1839

Fenella nigrita mine

Potentilla anserina, Horst

Fenella nigrita mine in Potentilla spec.

Potentilla spec., België, prov. Oost-Vlaanderen, Oudenaarde, bos t’Ename © Carina Van Steenwinkel

Fenella nigrita mine in Potentilla spec.

occupied mines

Fenella nigrita: larva in the mine

larva in the mine

Fenella nigrita mine

Agrimonia eupatoria, Nieuwendam


Full depth transparent blotch without a clear preceding corridor, quickly and strongly widening from the start. Frass in sausage-shaped granules. Often several leaflets of a composite leaf each have a mine.

host plants

Rosaceae, oligophagous

Agrimonia eupatoria, procera, repens; Aremonia agrimonioides; Argentina anserina; Comarum palustre; Filipendula rubra, ulmaria; Fragaria vesca; Potentila argentea, argyrophylla, crantzii, erecta, fulgens, pensylvanica, reptans, tabernaemontani.


Larvae have been found from end May till end October.


BE recorded (Fauna Europaea, 2008).

NE recorded (van Ooststroom, 1976a).

LUX recorded (Chevin, Ellis & Schneider, 2011a).

distribution within Europe

Entire Europe, with possible exception of the Balkan Peninsula (Fauna Europaea, 2008).



Mining sawfly larvae in general have an extremely restricted palate, and it is surprising that F. nigrita forms such a clear exception to this rule. Liston (1993b) therefore has suggested that the species in fact may consist of a complex of microspecies.

Among hundreds of reared specimens Hering (1924a) did not find a single male; apparently the species is parthenogenetic.


Ahr (1966a), Altenhofer (2003a), Beiger (1958a, 1960a, 1965a, 1970a, 1979a), Blank ao (1998a), Buhr (1933a, 1941a, 1964a), Chevin, Ellis & Schneider (2011a), Drăghia (1967a, 1971a), Haase (1942a), Hartig (1939a), Healy (1869b), Hering (1924a, 1930b, 1936b, 1957a), Huber (1969a), Kvičala (1938a), Liston (1993b, 1995b, 2006a, 2007d), Liston, Knight, Heibo, ao (2012a), Lorenz & Kraus (1957a), Maček (1999a, 2012c), Michalska (1970a, 1972a), Nowakowski (1954a), van Ooststroom (1976a), Popescu-Gorj & Drăghia (1968a), Pschorn-Walcher & Altenhofer (2000a), Pschorn-Walcher & Taeger (1995), Riddiford & Liston (2016a), Robbins (1991a), Scobiola-Palade (1974a), Skala (1941a, 1951a), Skala & Zavřel (1945a), Smith (1971a), Sønderup (1949a), Taeger, Blank & Liston (2006a), Taeger ao (1998a), Viramo (1969a), Wahlgren (1944a, 1951a), Zoerner (1969a), Zombori (1978a).

Last modified 8.i.2022