Plant Parasites of Europe

leafminers, galls and fungi

Elachista argentella

Elachista argentella (Clerk, 1759)

swan-feather dwarf


In autumn the larva makes a narrow corridor a few cm in length, in which it hibernates. In March it moves to a new leaf. Here a transparant, full depth mine is made that descends from the leaf tip, and occupies the entire width of the blade. Most frass is concentrated in the oldest, highest, part of the mine. The larva may leave its mine and restart elsewhere. Pupation outside the mine.


Poaceae, widely oligophgous

Agrostis; Anisantha sterilis; Avenula pubescens; Brachypodium pinnatum, sylvaticum; Bromopsia erecta, pannonica; Calamagrostis epigeios; Dactylis glomerata; Deschampsia cespitosa; Elytrigia intermedia, repens; Festuca ovina, rubra, stricta subsp. trachyphylla, valesiaca; Helictochloa pratensis; Holcus lanatus, mollis; Koeleria glauca, grandis, macrantha; Leymus arenarius; Phalaroides arundinacea; Phleum; Poa pratensis; Rostraria cristata.


Larvae can be found from late summer to early May (Bland, 1996a; Traugott-Olsen & Nielsen, 1977a).


BE reorded (Phegea, 2009).

NE recorded (Kuchlein & de Vos, 1999a;, 2009).

LUX recorded (Fauna Europaea, 2009).

distribution within Europe

Entire Europe, except the Balkan Peninsula (Fauna Europaea, 2009).


Grey green with a faint white dorsal line. Head pale brown; prothoracic shield brown, consisting of 4+4 small plates (Bland, 1996a).


Described by Patočka (1999a), Patočka & Turčáni (2005a); illustr in Parenti & Pizzolato (2015b).


Elachista cygnipennella (Hübner, 1796).


Baldizzone (2004a), Baran, Mazurkiewicz & Pałka (2007a), Bidzilya, Budashkin & Zhakov (2016a), Bland (1988a), Buhr (1935b), Diškus & Stonis (2012a), Hering (1957a), Huber (1969a), Kuchlein &anp; de Vos (1999a), Leutsch (2011a), Parenti & Pizzolato (2015b), Parenti & Varalda (1994a), Patočka (1999a), Patočka & Turčáni (2005a), De Prins (1998a), Robbins (1991a), Schütze (1931a), Sønderup (1949a), Sruoga & Ivinskis (2005a, 2011a), Sruoga, Stunþënav & Paulavièiûte (2009a), Szőcs (1977a, 1978a, 1981a), Traugott-Olsen & Nielsen (1977a), Wörz (1957a).

Last modified 12.ii.2018