Plant Parasites of Europe

leafminers, galls and fungi

Monochroa suffusella

Monochroa suffusella (Douglas, 1850)

notch-wing neb

Monochroa suffusella: mine on Eriophorum angustifolium

Eriophorum angustifolium, Belgium, prov. Antwerp, Kalmthoutse Heide © Dan Slootmaekers: the mine started in the oldest, dark-coloured part of the leaf; at right the emergence hole

Monochroa suffusella: mine on Eriophorum angustifolium, opened

opened mine


In autumn the larva bores into the stem and mines in the lower part of the leaf. After hibernation the larva at first makes a short pale reddish undulating gallery in the lowest, reddened part of the hibernated leaf. Later the mine is extended upwards in the green part of the leaf. Here the mine is pale greenish, almost occupying the entire width of the leaf; the length of the mine in the green section measures 20-65 mm. Frass green. The full grown larva vacates the mine for pupation by an upper surface opening.

host plants

Cyperaceae, monophagous

Eriophorum angustifolium.

Nel (1998a) observed the species at a site where Eriophorum was not present; possibly it lived there on some Carex.


Larvae from autumn till spring; hibernation in the mine (Bland ao, 2002a).


BE recorded (see pictures above).

NE recorded (Kuchlein & de Vos, 1999a;, 2011).

LUX not recorded (Fauna Europaea, 2011).

distribution within Europe

From Fennoscandia to the Pyrenees and the Alps, and from Ireland to Romania (Fauna Europaea, 2011).


Dull yellow; head dark brown, transparent; prothoracic and anal plate small, triangular, pale brown; thoracic feet yellowish brown (Bland ao, 2002a; Sterling, 1998a).


Bland, Heckford & Langmaid (2002a), Elsner, Huemer & Tokár (1999a), Huemer & Mayr (1999a), Gielis, Huisman, Kuchlein ao (1985a), De Groote (2020a), Huisman & Koster (1997a), Huisman, Koster, van Nieukerken & Ellis (2007a), Huisman, Koster, van Nieukerken & Ulenberg (2001a), Kaitila 1996a), Kovács & Kovács (1999a), Kuchlein & Donner (1993a), Kuchlein & de Vos (1999a), Nel (1998a), Parsons (1995a), Slootmaekers & De Prins (2015a), Sterling (1998a), Szabóky (2012a), Triberti, Longo Turri, Adami & Zanetti (2017a), Wegner (2010a), Wegner, Kayser & van Loh (2007a).

Last modified 27.ii.2023