Plant Parasites of Europe

leafminers, galls and fungi

Scrobipalpa salinella

Scrobipalpa salinella (Zeller, 1847)

sea-aster groundling


Long, extremely narrow lower- or upper-surface corridor, with a black or brown central frass line. After a while this primary mine is vacated, and the larva starts making shorter, much broader, full depth blotch mines. In the end the larva lives free among spun leaves; here also the pupation.

host plants

Amaranthaceae, oligophagous

Arthrocnemum macrostachyum; Salicornia europaea; Sarcocornia fruticosa.

According to the literature also on Aster tripolium, Halimione pedunculata, and Suaeda maritima, but probably this concerns occasional observations or confusion with the mines of Bucculatrix maritima (Bland, 2002a; Jansen, in litt.).

The list of hostplants presented by Elsner ao (1999a), including Atriplex, Spergularia media and even Ferula is bizarre.


Larvae in April-June (Bland ao, 2002a).


BE recorded (Phegea, 2009).

NE recorded (Kuchlein & de Vos, 1999a;, 20909).

LUX not recorded (Fauna Europaea, 2009).

distribution within Europe

Almost all Europe, Ireland excepted (Fauna Europaea, 2009).


Dirty yellow with a red length line; head light brown; pronotum, anal shield and thoracic feet black.


Gnorimoschema salinellum; Ilseopsis salinella; Scrobipalpa salicorniae (Hering, 1889).


Huemer & Karsholt (2010a) consider salicorniae a distinct species. More probably the two are the extremes of a clinal variation, with a northern subspecies salcorniae living on Salicornia, and a southern (typical) subspecies salinella on Arthrocnemum spp.


Bella & Karsholt (2015a), Bentley (2008a), Bland, Corley, Emmet ao (2002a), Buszko & Rynarzewski (2022a), Corley (2005a), Elsner, Huemer & Tokár (1999a), Gerstberger (2003a), Huemer & Karsholt (2010a), Huertas Dionisio (2002a, 2007a), Huisman, Koster, van Nieukerken & Ulenberg (2005a), Jansen (1999a), Jansen & Asselbergs (1993a), Kaitila (1996a), Kasy (1959a, 1965a), Kuchlein & Donner (1993a), Kuchlein & de Vos (1999a), Nel (1999b), Parsons (1995a), Requena (2009a), Rickert (2010a, 2011a), Sattler (1986a), Szőcs (1977a), Wegner (2010a, 2013a).

Last modified 25.i.2023