Plant Parasites of Europe

leafminers, galls and fungi

Mompha raschkiella

Mompha raschkiella (Zeller, 1839)

little mompha

Mompha raschkiella mine

Chmaerion angustifolium, Bergen NH, Bergerbosch: young mine

Mompha raschkiella mine

older mine

Mompha raschkiella mine

Ede, Hindekamp: larva in the mine

Het Twiske: start of a secondary mine


The oval, iridescent egg is deposited at the upper side of the leaf, mostly close to the midrib. Here starts a gallery, at first narrow and hardly widening, the first cm not always full depth, often making a few loops around the egg and/or running along the midrib for some distance. Parts of the leaf cut off by a corridor loop often turn red. Frass in small, grey grains, dispersed, not glued to floor or ceiling of the mine. Later the larva makes a full depth blotch; mostly in continuation to the corridor, but the larva can also leave the mine and restart elsewhere, which may happen already at this stage. A new mine begins with a hole where the larva has gained entrance, end ends in an untidy exit. The larva lies venter-upwards in the mine. Pupation external.

host plants

Onagraceae, monophagous

Chamerion angustifolium, ? hirsutum.


Larvae in end-May – end-July and end-August – September (Hering, 1957a; Koster, 2002b).


BE recorded (Phegea, 2010).

NE recorded (Kuchlein & de Vos, 1999a;, 2010).

LUX recorded (Fauna Europaea, 2010).

distribution within Europe

Europe, except the Iberian Peninsula, the Mediterranean Islands and parts of the Balkan Peninsula (Fauna Europaea, 2010).



See Patočka & Turčáni (2005a).


Lophoptilus, Tebenna, raschkiella.

parasitoids, predators

Cirrospilus vittatus.


Ahr (1966a), Baldizzone (2004a, 2008a), Beiger (1955a), Buhr (1935b, 1964a), Emmet & Langmaid (2002b), Haase (1942a), Hellers (2020a), Hering (1957a), Huber (1969a), Huisman, Koster, van Nieukerken & Ulenberg (2004a), Klimesch (1950c, 1960a), Koster (2002b), Koster & Sinev (2003a), Kuchlein & Donner (1993a), Kuchlein & de Vos (1999a), Laštůvka & Laštůvka (2019a), Maček (1999a), Michalska (1970a, 1972a), Nowakowski (1954a), Patočka & Turčáni (2005a), De Prins (1998a), Robbins (1991a), Schmid (2019a), Seidel (1957a), Skala (1949a, 1951a), Sønderup (1949a), Stammer (2016a), Starý (1930a), Szőcs (1977a), Zoerner (1969a).

Last modified 26.i.2023