Plant Parasites of Europe

leafminers, galls and fungi

Bucculatrix nigricomella

Bucculatrix nigricomella (Zeller, 1839)

daisy bent-wing

Bucculatrix nigricomella mine on Leucanthemum vulgare

Leucanthemum vulgare, Belgium, prov. Hainaut, Erquelinnes, Grand-Reng © Jean-Yves Baugnée

Bucculatrix nigricomella mine on Leucanthemum vulgare

same leaf, lighted from behind

Bucculatrix nigricomella mines

Leucanthemum vulgare, Amstelveen, Schinkelbos


In the centre of the picture the empty egg shell is visible as a small shining oval.


Young larvae in a very long, hair thin, winding corridor. Usually the corridor is (largely) upper-surface. Frass initially in a narrow continuous central line; further on the frass line is often interrupted. Older larvae live free and cause window feeding, usually at the leaf underside. Pupation in a white, spindle-shaped, weakly ribbed cocoon.

host plants

Asteraceae, monophagous

Leucanthemum vulgare.

Maček (1999a) reported from Slovenia on Paliurus spina-christi mines of Bucculatrix albipedella, a species that has recently been synonymised by Hausenblas (2007a). This must stem from an interpretation error by Maček.


Larvae in March – April and in July (Emmet, 1985a); hibernation as egg or young larva.


BE recorded (Phegea, 2009).

NE recorded (Kuchlein & de Vos, 1999a;, 2009).

LUX recorded (Fauna Europaea, 2009).

distribution within Europe

Europe, except the Balkan Peninsula (Fauna Europaea, 2009).


Described by Patočka (1996a), Patočka & Turčáni (2005a).


Bucculatrix albipedella Hofmann, 1874.


Ahr (1966a), Baldizzone (2004a), Beiger (1970a), Bengtsson & Johansson (2011a), Biesenbaum (2010a), Borkowski (2003a), Buhr (1935a, 1964a), Burmann (1991a), Buszko (1992b), Emmet (1985a), Hausenblas (2007a), Hering (1957a), Huisman & Koster (2000a), Huisman, Koster, Muus & van Nieukerken (2013a), Huisman, Kuchlein, van Nieukerken ao (1986a), Klimesch (1937b, 1956a), Kuchlein & Donner (1992a), Kuchlein & de Vos (1999a), Kurz & Embacher (2012a), Maček (1999a), Michalska (1976a), Nowakowski (1954a), Patočka (1996a), Patočka & Turčáni (2005a), De Prins (2010a), Robbins (1991a), Schmid (2019a), Skala & Zavřel (1945a), Sønderup (1949a), Svensson (1971a), Szőcs (1977a).

Last modified 11.ii.2021