Plant Parasites of Europe

leafminers, galls and fungi

Phyllonorycter oxyacanthae

Phyllonorycter oxyacanthae (Frey, 1856)

common thorn midget

Phyllonorycter oxyacanthae mine

Crataegus monogyna, Nieuwendam

Phyllonorycter oxyacanthae: mines on Crataegus monogyna

Crataegus monogyna, Driehuis


Rather small, lower-surface, tentiform mine with a yellow-green epidermis that has a number of folds. Pupation within the mine. The pupa of the summer generation in a quite flimsy cocoon; in the autumn generation there is more, golden, silk. All frass in a clump in the distal angle of the mine.

host plants

Rosaceae, oligophagous

Crataegomespilus asnieresii; Crataegus chrysocarpa, monogya, pentagyna, rhipidophylla, rivularis; Cydonia oblonga; Mespilus germanica; Pyracantha coccinea; Pyrus communis; Sorbus aucuparia, torminalis.

Hawthorn is the most important hostplant. Bred once from Staphylea pinnata (Triberti, 2007a).


Mines found from mid-June till November. In Britain there are two generations, with larvae in July and September – October (Emmet, Watkinson & Wilson,1985a).


BE recorded (Phegea, 2009).

NE recorded (Kuchlein & de Vos, 1999a;, 2009).

LUX recorded (Fauna Europaea, 2009).

distribution within Europe

Entire Europe, except th Balkan Peninsula (Fauna Europaea, 2009).




Lithocolletis oxyacanthae; Phyllonorycter pomonella (Zeller, 1846) [Triberti, 2007a].

parasitoids, predators

Achrysocharoides atys; Sympiesis gordius, sericeicornis.


Ahr (1966a), Bengtsson & Johansson (2011a), Bouček (1959a), Buhr (1935b, 1964a), Buszko (1992b), Buszko & Beshkov (2004a), Corley (2005a)m Deutsch (2012a), Deutschmann (2008a), Drăghia (1970a, 1971a), Emmet, Watkinson & Wilson (1985a), Haase (1942a), Gregor & Patočka (2001a), Hartig (1939a), Hering (1921a, 1924b, 1932g, 1957a), Huber (1969a), Huemer (1988a), Huisman & Koster (1998a), Jaworski (2009a), Kuchlein & Donner (1993a), Kuchlein & de Vos (1999a), ME & MA Kurz (2007a), Maček (1999a), Matošević, Pernek, Dubravac & Barić (2009a), Michna (1975a), Nel & Varenne (2014a), Nowakowski (1954a), Patočka & Turčáni (2005a), De Prins (2007a), De Prins & Steeman (2011a), Robbins (1991a), Schütze (1931a), Sefrová (2005a), Skala & Zavřel (1945a), Szőcz (1981a), Tomov & Krusteva (2007a), Tourlan (1980a), Triberti (2007a), Zoerner (1969a).

Last modified