Plant Parasites of Europe

leafminers, galls and fungi

Dyseriocrania subpurpurella

Dyseriocrania subpurpurella (Haworth, 1828)

common oak purple

on Quercus

Dyseriocrania subpurpurella imago

Heemstede, 29.vii.2017 © Laurens van der Linde: imago

Dyseriocrania subpurpurella mine on Quercus petraea

Quercus petraea, Hongarije, Kimle, 5.v.2016 © László Érsek

Dyseriocrania subpurpurella mine on Quercus petraea

occupied mine, lighted from behind

Dyseriocrania subpurpurella mine on Quercus petraea

larve in opened mine

Dyseriocrania subpurpurella larva

20.v.2016, larva dorsal

Dyseriocrania subpurpurella larva


Dyseriocrania subpurpurella larva

head and thorax, dorsaal

Dyseriocrania subpurpurella larva

abdomen end, dorsal

Dyseriocrania subpurpurella mine

Quercus robur, Aalten, 24.v.2002

Dyseriocrania subpurpurella mine

Quercus robur, Scharlakenbos, 10.v.2010 © Kees Boele

Dyseriocrania subpurpurella mine detail

Quercus robur, Hilversum, 5.v.2005: young mine


Oviposition within the leaf tissue, some 2 mm away from the leaf margin. The mine begins as a narrow corridor of c. 5 mm, largely filled with granular frass. This corridor abruptly widens into a large, dirty-whitish, full depth blotch that lies against the leaf margin and usually runs over the previous corridor. Frass here in long threads. Often several larvae in a mine after fusion of the original solitary mines. Pupation in the ground. When the mines are made the foliage still is very tender, and the mines quickly wither away; they cannot be found later in summer. Probably for he same reason the oviposition site almost always is a small hole.

host plants

Fagaeae, oligophagous

Castanea sativa; Quercus cerris, petraea, pubescens, pyrenaica, robur, rubra.

Associated by (1957a) and others also with Carpinus betulus and Corylus avellana; in the opinion of John Langmaid (in litt.) this refers to Paracrania chrysolepidella.


Mines May – June (Heath, 1976a). The larva hibernates in the soil, in a detritus-covered cocoon, and pupates in the spring.


BE recorded (Phegea, 2009).

NE recorded (Kuchlein & de Vos, 1999a;, 2009).

LUX recorded (Fauna Europaea, 2009).

distribution within Europe

All Europe (Fauna Europaea, 2009).



Described by Patočka & Turčáni (2005a); pictures in Schmid.


Eriocrania subpurpurella; Dyseriocrania fastuosella (Zeller, 1839).

parasitoids, predators

Chrysocharis pentheus.


Beiger (1979a), Bengtsson (2008a), Borkowski (2003a), Buhr (1935a, 1936a, 1964a), Corley, Merckx, Cardoso, Dale,Marabuto, Maravalhas & Pires (2012a), van Frankenhuyzen & Houtman (1972a), van Frankenhuyzen Houtman & Kabos (1982a), Haase (1942a), Heath (1983a), Hellers (2016a), Hering (1934a, 1936b, 1957a), Huber (1969a), Huemer (2012a), Kuchlein & Donner (1993a), Kuchlein & de Vos (1999a), Kurz (2016a), Leutsch (2011a), Maček (1999a), Nowakowski (1954a), Patočka & Turčáni (2005a), De Prins (2004a), Robbins (1991a), Schmid (2019a), Skala (1951a), Sønderup (1949a), Stammer (2016a), Starý (1930a), Szőcs (1977a), Toll (1959a), Ureche (2010a).

Last modified 29.viii.2023