Plant Parasites of Europe

leafminers, galls and fungi

Stigmella oxyacanthella

Stigmella oxyacanthella (Stainton, 1854)

common fruit-tree pigmy

Stigmella oxyacanthella mine on Crataegus monogyna

Crataegus monogyna, Nieuwendam, 22.x.2011

Stigmella oxyacanthella mine on Crataegus monogyna

Crataegus monogyna, Duin en Kruidberg, 11..x.2001

Stigmella oxyacanthella mine on Crataegus monogyna


Stigmella oxyacanthella: vacated mine on Pyrus communis

Pyrus communis, Belgium, prov. Hainaut, Tournai, RN de la Carrière de l’Orientm 22.viii.2016 © Stéphane Claerebout


Long corridor, that widens only little, and winds freely through the leaf, not influenced by the venation. In thick, sun-exposed leaves the mine may be much shorter, especially in Cotoneaster, Malus and Pyrus. Frass brown, in arcs.

host plants

Rosaceae, oligophagous

Amelanchier ovalis; Chaenomeles (?); Cotoneaster integerrimus, multiflorus; Crataegus azarolus, chrysocarpa, coccinea, crus-galli, douglasii, laciniata, laevigata, x lavalleei, monogyna, pentagyna, rivularis, spathulata; Crataemespilus dardari, grandiflora; Cydonia oblonga; Malus angustifolia, astracanica, baccata, coronaria, domestica, floribunda, fusca, parviflora, ringo, sylvestris; Mespilus germanica, punctata; Prunus armeniaca, avium, spinosa; Pyrus betulifolia, communis, elaeagrifolia. spinosa; Sorbus aucuparia.

At least in the Netherlands Crataegus is the most important hostplant.


Larvae in September – October.


BE recorded (Phegea, 2009).

NE recorded (Kuchlein & de Vos, 1999a;, 2009).

LUX recorded (Ellis, Kautenbach).

distribution within Europe

From Scandinavia and Finland to Portugal, Italy, and Bulgaria, and from Ireland to Middle Russia (Corley EA, 2006a; Fauna Europaea, 2009).



Nepticula oxyacanthella; N. cotoneastri Sorhagen, 1922; N. oxysorbi Skala, 1933; Stigmella aeneella auct.

Probably also Nepticula chaenomelis Skala 1936 is a synonym of oxyacanthella (van Nieukerken, 1986a); the species is described after a larva and mine on Chaenomeles. Other, reared, material of this hostplant is not known.


Ahr (1966a), Amsel & Hering (1931a), Bengtsson (2008a), Borkowski (1969a), Buhr (1935a,b, 1964a), Buszko & Baraniak (1989a), J Černý (2001a), Corley, Maravalhas & Passos de Carvalho (2006a), Diškus & Stonis (2012a), Drăghia (1971a, 1972a), Emmet (1971a, 1983a), van Frankenhuyzen & Houtman (1972a), van Frankenhuyzen Houtman & Kabos (1982a), Gustafsson (1985a), Gustafsson & van Nieukerken (1990a), Haase (1942a), Hartig (1939a), Hering (1921a,b, 1934a, 1957a), Huber (1969a), Huemer (1985a, 1988a), Huemer & Erlebach (2003a), Johansson ao (1990a), Klimesch (1936a, 1948a, 1950c, 1958c), Klimesch & Skala (1936c), Kuchlein & Donner (1993a), Kuhchlein & de Vos (1999a), Kurz (2016a), Laštuvka & Laštuvka (1997a), Lepiforum (2024), Lhomme (1934c), Maček (1999a), Michalska (1970a), Michna (1975a), van Nieukerken (1986a, 2006a), van Nieukerken, Laštuvka & Laštuvka (2006a), van Nieukerken, Zolotuhin & Mistchenko (2004a), Nowakowski (1954a), Popescu-Gorj & Drăghia (1968a), De Prins (2007a), De Prins & Steeman (2011a, 2014a), Robbins (1991a), Schoorl, van Nieukerken & Wilkinson (1985a), Schütze (1931a), Sefrová (2005a), Skala (1939a, 1951a), Skala & Zavřel (1945a), Skorb, Diškus & Stonis (0000a), Sobczyk & van Nieukerken (2021a), Sønderup (1949a), Steuer (1995a), Szőcs (1968a, 1977a, 1978a, 1981a), Yefremova & Kravchenko (2015a), Zoerner (1969a, 1970a).

Last modified 5.i.2024