Plant Parasites of Europe

leafminers, galls and fungi

Stigmella perpygmaeella

Stigmella perpygmaeella (Doubleday, 1859)

least thorn pigmy

Stigmella perpygmaeella mine

Crataegus monogyna, Naardense Bos

Stigmella perpygmaeella mine

another mine

Stigmella perpygmaeella: larva in mine on Crataegus monogyna

Crataegus monogyna, Belgium, prov. Namur, Grand-Leez; © Jean-Yves Baugnée


Oviposition on the underside of the leaf, rarely on the petiole (in Scandinavia the reverse is true, see Johansson ao, 1990a). The mine is a corridor that quickly widens into a secondary blotch without, ar only a very short, free initial corridor part. The mine is constrained between two veins or, less frequently, a lateral vein and the leaf margin. In the pseudoblotch the frass is warm brown and coiled.

host plants

Rosaceae, monophagous

Crataegus laevigata, monogyna.

Skala (1939a) found the mine once also on Prunus domestica. He also mentions the species from Hippophae; the latter association has also been reported by Szőcs (1977a).


Larvae in July and October (Emmet, 1983a).


BE recorded (Phegea, 2009).

NE recorded (Kuchlein & de Vos, 1999a;, 2009).

LUX recorded (Ellis: Kautenbach).

distribution within Europe

All Europe (Fauna Europaea, 2009).


Yellow (Emmet, 1983a; Gustafsson & van Nieukerken, 1990a).


Nepticula perpygmaella; Stigmella pygmaeella (Haworth, 1828).


Beiger (1979a), Bengtsson (2008a), Borkowski (1969a), Buhr (1935b, 1964a), Buszko & Beshkov (2004a), J Černý (2001a), Drăghia (1968a, 1970a, 1972a), Emmet (1971a, 1983a), Gustafsson (1985a), Gustafsson & van Nieukerken (1990a), Haase (1942a), Hartig (1939a), Hering (1921a), 1932g, 1957a), Huber (1969a), Johansson ao (1990a), Kasy (1983a, 1987a), Klimesch (1940a, 1950c, 1958c, 1978b), Kuchlein & Donner (1993a), Kuchlein & de Vos (1999a), Kurz (2016a), A & Z Laštuvka (1997a, 2008a), Maček (1999a), Navickaitė, Diškus & Stonis (2014), van Nieukerken (1986a, 2006a), van Nieukerken, A & Z Laštuvka (2004a, 2006a), van Nieukerken, Zolotuhin & Mistchenko (2004a), De Prins (1998a), De Prins & Steeman (2011a), Robbins (1991a), Schütze (1931a), Sefrová (2005a), Skala (1939a, 1941a, 1951a), Skala & Zavřel (1945a), Sønderup (1949a), Steeman & Sierens (2019a), Szőcs (1977a, 1978a, 1981a), Yefremova & Kravchenko (2015a), Zoerner (1969a, 1970a).

Last modified 17.vii.2021