Plant Parasites of Europe

leafminers, galls and fungi

Phragmidium sanguisorbae

Phragmidium sanguisorbae (de Candolle) Schröter, 1887

on Marcetella, Sanguisorba

Phragmidium sanguisorbae on Sanguisorba minor

Sanguisorba minor, Belgium, prov. Namur, Viroinval, Nismes; © Stéphane Claerebout

Phragmidium sanguisorbae: aecia on Sanguisorba minor

underside of the leaf, with aecia

Phragmidium sanguisorbae: aecia on Sanguisorbs minor

Sanguisorba minor, Belgium, prov. Antwerp, Mol, eco-demo garden © Carina Van Steenwinkel: aecia

Phragmidium sanguisorbae: aecia and telia on Sanguisorbs minor

aecia, uredinia (indistinguishable from the aecia), and blackish brown telia

Phragmidium sanguisorbae: aecia on Sanguisorbs minor

the rachis is galled by aecia

Phragmidium sanguisorbae: aeciospore


Phragmidium sanguisorbae: uredinium


Phragmidium sanguisorbae: uredinium: paraphyses


Phragmidium sanguisorbae: urediniospores


Phragmidium sanguisorbae: teliospores



no alternation of host plant. Spermogonia near the aecia, between epidermis and cuticula. Aecia amphigenous, orange, without a peridium but with a circle of hyaline, sausage-shaped curved paraphyses; spores produced in chains, densely verrucose. Uredinia hypophyllous, yellow, small, 0.2 mm, equally encircled by paraphyses, spores single, pedicellate. Telia hypophyllous black; spores short pedicellate, elliptic, brown, transversely divided into c. 4, finely verrucose cells, apically terminated by an ill-defined apiculus.

host plants

Rosaceae, narrowly oligophagous

Marcetella moquiniana, Sanguisorba minor & subsp. balearica, officinalis, rupicola, verrucosa; Sarcopoterium spinosum.

Erdoğdu, Hüseyin & Suludere cite as host: Sanguisorba spec. and Rubus sanctus; probably there is some confusion involved.


Phragmidium poterii Fuckel, 1870; Ph. poterii subsp. longipes (Saccardo & Trotter) Durrieu, 1968.


Bahcecioglu & Kabaktepe (2012a), Blumer (1946a), Brandenburger (1985a), Buhr (1965a), Dauphin & Aniotsbehere (1997a), Ellis & Ellis (1997a), Erdoğdu, Hüseyin & Suludere (2010a), Gäumann (1959a), Gjaerum (1982a, 1986a, 1987a), González-Fragoso (1925a), Helfer (2005a), Henderson (2000a), Jage, Kruse, Kummer ao (2013a), Klenke & Scholler (2015a), Kozłowska, Mułenko & Heluta (2015a), Kruse (2014a, 2019a), Kruse & Jage (2014a), Leysen (2013a), Llorens i Villagrasa (1984a), Losa España (1942a), Maier, Begerow, Weiß & Oberwinkler (2003a), Negrean (1997a), Petrova & Denchev (2004a), Poelt & Zwetko (1997a), Preece & Hick (1994a), Redfern & Shirley (2011a), Riegler-Hagler (2002a), Ritz, Maier, Oberwinkler & Wissemann (2005a), Roskam (2009a), Ruszkiewicz-Michalska (2006a), Savchenko, Wasser, Heluta & Nevo (2019a), Termorshuizen & Swertz (2011a), Tomasi (2014a), Unamuno (1942a), Vanderweyen & Fraiture (2007a), Wilson & Henderson (1966a), Woods, Stringer, Evans & Chater (2015a).

Last modified 29.ix.2019