Puccinia absinthii de Candolle, 1808

on Artemisia

Puccinia absinthii: epiphyllous uredinia on Artemisia vulgaris

Artemisia vulgaris, Velsen, lg Velserbeek: tiny epiphyllous uredinia

an epiphyllous and a hypophyllous uredinium


Puccinia absinthii: uredinia and telium on Artemisia vulgaris

Artemisia vulgaris, Well (li): uredinia and telium

Puccinia absinthii: urediniospore and teliosporePuccinia absinthii: teliospore

the teliospores generally are verruculose

Puccinia absinthii: telia (and uredinia) on Artemisia vulgaris

Artemisia vulgaris, Belgium, prov. Antwerp, Veerle, de Roost © Carina Van Steenwinkel: telia, and, barely visible, a few uredinia

Puccinia absinthii: teliospores



No host plant alternation, uredinia and telia. Uredinia pulverulent. Urediniospores with three ± equatorial pores, each covered by a low papilla. Telia hypophyllous, soon naked, compact, almost black. The wall of two-celled teliospores is covered with minute pustules that decrease in size towards the base; spores measurements: 23-24 x 46-53 µm.

host plants

Asteraceae, monophagous

Artemisia abrotanum, absinthium. alba, annua, arborescens, austriaca, biennis, campestris & subsp. borealis, dracunculus, fragrans, frigida, glauca, herba-aba, ludoviciana, maritima, monosperma, pontica, rupestris, santonicum, scoparia, vulgaris.

Has been mentioned from Tripleurospermum inodorum.


Puccinia artemisiella Sydow & Sydow, 1902. The Index Fungorum (2016) considers absinthii a synonym of P. chrysanthemi; Termorshuizen & Swertz rather mention the name as a synonym of P. tanaceti.

Gäumann and Klenke & Scholler with obvious hesitation consider P. artemisiella a valid species; the species would occur only on Artemisia campestris and vulgaris, and differ from absinthii in the dimensions of the teliospore: absinthii: (14)23-24(36) x (31)46-53(80); artemisiella: (14)18-20(26) x (29)39-43(60) µm. The spores of artemisiella are also more narrow in shape.


Bahcecioglu & Kabaktepe (2012a), Blumer (1946a), Brandenburger (1972a, 1985a: 632), Gäumann (1959a), Gönczö & Révay (1981a), González Fragoso (1924a), Klenke & Scholler (2015a), Kruse (2019a), Kruse, Thiel, Frauenberger ao (2019a), Melzer, Pittoni, Poelt & Scheuer (1984a), Riegler-Hagler (2002a,b), Sadravi, Ono, Pei & Rahnama (2007a), Savchenko, Heluta, Wasser & Nevo (2014d), Savchenko, Wasser, Heluta & Nevo (2019a), Scholler & Schubert (1993a), Termorshuizen & Swertz (2011a), Tóth (1994a).

mod 29.ix.2019