Plant Parasites of Europe

leafminers, galls and fungi

Uromyces pisi

Uromyces pisi (Persoon) Liro, 1908

on Euphorbia


see Aecidium euphorbiae.

spermogonia, aecia

Euphorbiaceae, narrowly monophagous

Euphorbia cyparissias, esula subsp. tommasiniana, nicaeensis, seguieriana.


The general appearance of infected plants is strongly modified; the shoots get longer and their tips look remind of inflorescences. Indeed these pseudoflowers attract insects, that in turn disperse the fungus (Pfunder, 1999a).

on Lathyrus, Pisum

Uromyces pisi: on Lathyrus pratensis

Lathyrus pratensis, Wierumerschouw © Arnold Grosscurt: infected plant

Uromyces pisi: uredinia on Lathyrus pratensis


Uromyces pisi: urediniospore


Uromyces pisi: teliospore


Uromyces pisi: teliospore


Uromyces pisi: teliospores

Lathyrus aphaca, from González-Fragoso (1925a): teliospores


Uredinia mainly hypophyllous; spores 19-23 x 21-24 µm, verruculose, with 3-4 distributed pores. Telia amphigenous, dark brown; spores one-celled, very finely verrucose, warts never in parallel vertical lines; top with a low hyaline warty papilla; pedicel deciduous, short.

uredinia, telia

Fabaceae, narrowly oligophagous

Lathyrus aphaca, cicera, clymenum, heterophyllus, laevigatus subsp. occidentalis, latifolius, niger, nissolia, odoratus, pratensis, sativus, sylvestris, tuberosus, vernus; Pisum sativum


Uromyces pisi-sativi (de Candolle) Liro, 1908.


Mycodiplosis coniophaga.


Tuberculina persicina.


Bellmann (2012a), Blumer (1946a), Brandenburger (1985a), Buhr (1964b, 1965a), Dietrich (2013a), Ellis & Ellis (1997a), Erdoğdu, Hüseyin & Suludere (2010a), Gäumann (1959a), González-Fragoso (1922a, 1925a), Henderson (2000a, 2004a), Jage, Klenke, Kruse ao (2016a), Jage, Kruse, Kummer ao (2013a), Klenke & Scholler (2015a), Kozłowska, Mułenko & Heluta (2015a), Kruse (2014a, 2019a), Losa España (1942a), Maier, Begerow, Weiß & Oberwinkler (2003a), Maier, Wingfield, Mennicken & Wingfield (2007a), Marková & Urban (1988a), Negrean (1997a), Negrean & Denchev (2000a), Poelt & Zwetko (1997a), Preece & Hick (1994a), Redfern & Shirley (2011a), Roskam (2009a), Savchenko, Heluta, Wasser & Nevo (2014e), Scholler & Schubert (1993a), Termorshuizen & Swertz (2011a), Tomasi (2012a), Tóth (1994a), Vanderweyen & Fraiture (2008a), Wilson & Henderson (1966a), Woods, Stringer, Evans & Chater (2015a).

Last modified 22.vii.2019