Plant Parasites of Europe

leafminers, galls and fungi

Coleosporium tussilaginis sensu lato

Coleosporium tussilaginis sensu lato

on Pinus

Coleosporium tussilaginis aecia

Pinus sylvestris, Belgium, prov. Liège, Gemmenich: aecia; © Jean-Yves Baugnée: aecia

Coleosporium tussilaginis: spermogonia on Pinus sylvestris

Pinus sylvestris, landgoed Tongeren © Hans Jonkman: spermogonia

Coleosporium tussilaginis s.l. emerging aecium

young aecium emerging through the epidermis

Coleosporium tussilaginis s.l. ripe aecium

mature aecium

Coleosporium tussilaginis s.l.: aeciospore, optical section

aeciospore, optical section

"Coleosporium tussilaginis s.l.: aeciospore, scupure

same spore, sculpture

"Coleosporium tussilaginis s.l.: aeciospore: optical section

aeciospore, optical section

"Coleosporium tussilaginis s.l.: aeciospore: sculpture

same spore, sculpture

Coleosporium tussilaginis sensu lato: aecia on Pinus sylvestris

Pinus sylvestris, landgoed Tongeren © Hans Jonkman

Coleosporium tussilaginis sensu lato: spermogonium

Pinus sylvestris, from González-Fragoso (1925a): spermogonium (section)


aecia purse-shaped, flattened, often several in a row, epiphyllous

spermogonia, aecia

Pinaceae, monophagous

Pinus mugo, nigra & subsp. laricio, pinaster, sylvestris etc..

only on two-needled species,


to collectively indicate the aecia stage of all Coleosporium species, sometimes the name Peridermium oblongisporum Fuckel, 1870, is used.

on various herbaceous plants


the teliospores are arranged like basalt columns, on top covered by a layer of a waxy substance. Initially they are one-celled, but in the end meiosis takes place, resulting in a chain of four haploid cells. Each one germinates under formation of a sterigma (picture above), on top of which eventually a spore will be formed (Mims & Richardson).

uredinia, telia

see the different species within the complex. But of the following plant species it is not known by which small species they are parasitised:

Chrysanthemum; Chrysophthalmum dichotomum; Ismelia carinata.


the following names are within Europe included in the C. tussilaginis complex: Coleosporium aposeridis, asterisci-aquatici, cacaliae, campanulae, carpesii, cerinthes, doronici, euphrasiae, inulae, kleiniae, ligulariae, melampyri, narcissi, petasitis, pulsatillae, senecionis, sonchi, telekiae, tropaeoli, tussilaginis.


The European species of the genus Coleosporium are morphologically indistinguishable. However, biologically they are clearly separated by specialisation of the uredinial and telial stage on different plants. Some authors deal with the situation by taking all as a single variable species, tussilaginis (eg, Termorshuizen & Swertz), while others treat all species as independent forms (eg, Klenke & Scholler). Helfer (2013a) has proposed a solution by grouping all described species into a limited number of “formae speciales” of tussilaginis, but the result was arbitrary and not well-founded.

The relatively low number of morphological characters that in mycology are available for the discrimination of species has for many decennia fed the discussion about the ideal width of the species concept. Recent molecular studies have shown that in most cases a narrow species concept is to be favoured. Awaiting such a study of the genus Coleosporium it seems advisable, and biologically also most informative, to consider the species described in the past as valid ones.

In fairness it must be noted that Maier ao (2003a) did not find differences in the DNA of C. cacaliae, campanula and tussilaginis; but their study was aimed at the rust fungi as a group, not on this particular genus.


Mycodiplosis coniophaga, tussilaginis.


Ramularia coleosporii; Tuberculina persicina.


Bahcecioglu & Kabaktepe (2012a), Beltran Tejera (1976a), Brandenburger (1985a: 23, 635, 652), Doppelbaur & Doppelbaur (1968a, 1973a), Ellis & Ellis (1997a), Gäumann (1959a), Gjaerum (1970a, 1982a, 1986a, 1987a), Gjaerum & Sunding (1986a), Heger & Böhner (2006a), Helfer (2003a), Henderson (2000a, 2004a), Henricot & Denton (2004a), Jost (1987a), Karadžić & Milijašević (2008a), Kozłowska, Mułenko & Heluta (2015a), Kruse (2014a, 2019a), Kruse & Jage (2014a), Ludwig (1974a), Maier, Begerow, Weiß & Oberwinkler (2003a), Mims & Richardson (2005a), Mułenko, Sałata & Wołczańska (1995a), Negrean (1996a, 1997a), Poelt & Zwetko (1997a), Preece & Hick (1994a), Redfern & Shirley (2011a), Riegler-Hager (2002b), Ruszkiewicz-Michalska (2006a), Ruszkiewicz-Michalska, Bałazy, Chełkowski, ao (2015a), Schmid-Heckel (1985a), Termorshuizen & Swertz (2011a), Tomasi (2003a), Tunali, Yildirim, Aime, Hernández & Berner (2005a), Vanderweyen & Fraiture (2007a), Woods, Stringer, Evans & Chater (2015a).

Last modified 27.xi.2022